Belkin router red light

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jack 193, Mar 15, 2009.

  1. Jack 193

    Jack 193

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    i had a zyxel router and it when i had it ..it dropped connection all the time this annoyed me massivley so because of this i bought a new one a Belkin router which i have had for a few month. Its been fine, about 4 weeks of uninterupted connection i got a red light on the internet lED so i rebooted the router then it went, another few weeks went by and i got the same thing again, so i rebooted it and then on thursday it did it again so again lol i rebooted it. Then on saturday it was really weird i didnt get the red light but it wasnt working right. But earlier today i got the red light !! then without rebooting it it went back to green light..now im mad because this is what happened with my old router Please what can i do coz im scared and annoyed now !
     
    Jack 193, Mar 15, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jack 193

    guest_9323wk

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0

    Could be another faulty router, are all your phone points connected to a filter? It could be noise on your line as well that can cause this problem. I would phone up your ISP and ask them to run tests on your phone line to make sure everything is ok. Also look on Belkin's website and see if there are any software updates for your router.
     
    guest_9323wk, Mar 15, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jack 193

    Jack 193

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    i was running scans at the time would that be maybe why it went red...Or the other thing was i got a message it popped up saying that devicces may not work because of memory something or other ?
     
    Jack 193, Mar 15, 2009
    #3
  4. Jack 193

    guest_9323wk

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0

    Could be what AV are you using? does it happen a certain point through the scan? Not sure what the error is that you are talking about, best thing to do is look through event viewer and see if you can find the error that came up and then post it on here.
     
    guest_9323wk, Mar 15, 2009
    #4
  5. Jack 193

    Jack 193

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    im using avg ..and i dont know what point. On friday i think it was like a warning message kind of not a virus or infection just a memory thing
     
    Jack 193, Mar 15, 2009
    #5
  6. Jack 193

    guest_9323wk

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0

    I would test the ram with this tool http://hcidesign.com/memtest/ let it run for about 2hours or so. I would still get your ISP to run checks on your line though, it might also be worth contacting Belkin Tech Support and see if they are able to advise you if its a faulty router or something else.
     
    guest_9323wk, Mar 15, 2009
    #6
  7. Jack 193

    Jack 193

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oki when it next goes on red i will ring Belkin thanks
     
    Jack 193, Mar 15, 2009
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.