PC Wont Boot (XP)

Reaction score
Hi, Sorry if i dont give enough info but i'm a bit of a newbie to the world of taking pc's to bits etc etc, anyway, the problem i have is that all of a sudden my pc wont boot, it comes up with the message of-

we apologize for the inconvenience blah blah blah and then gives me the options of restarting in

Safe Mode
Safe Mode with networking
Safe mode with command prompt
Last known good configuration
Start windows normally

well none of these work and it just keeps re-booting someone told me it was the hard drive, i have a spare unused external drive i can try but would like some advice if possible please as to what you all think might be my problem before i start dabbling and no doubt making things worse, one thing i really could do with being able to do it retrieve my word documents and photographs, please can someone point me in the right direction, many thanks

Reaction score
What does the 'blah blah blah' message say!
More info can help us to help you quicker.:thumb:

Reaction score
sorry i should have said all that it says, it says

windows did not close successfully a recent hardware change or software change might have caused this.

If your computer stopped responding , restarted unexpectedly or was automatically shut down toprotect your files and folders, chose last known good configuration to revert to the most recent settings that worked

If a previous startup attempt was interrupted due to a power failure or because the power or reset button was pressed, or if you arnt sure what caused the problem, chose start up windows normally

i have not installed any new software or hardware and my brother assures me he shut it down properly last time it was used.

Thanks for your help

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score