Internet problems - pages taking forever to load

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Hi folks (newbie here).

Over the past few days my internet as been playing up. Pages take an eternity to load and I have noticed every so often my connection changes from 'Local and Internet' to 'Local' only. I have checked all connections and everything is normal. My connection runs from an Orange Livebox (wired connection) and this is working as normal. I have a PC downstairs which runs off a wireless connection from the same Livebox and no apparent internet issues so it seems the problem lies with my PC which runs off the wired connection.

I have checked my phone line and everything is fine with that too. Really annoying me that I can't surf the net as normal. My browser is Firefox and I thought this may have been the issue but same issues occur through I.E.

Can anyone help please?

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
What happens when using another browser?

Try a reboot of the livebox

Try running the following command from a DOS window: ipconfig /flushdns

Welcome to PVReview. :)

Reaction score
Hi mate. Thanks for your help.

When I try Internet Explorer I get same issues. I also rebooted the livebox, unplugged all connections and tried again but made no difference.

However you/I may just have hit the jackpot with your suggestion to run the ipconfig /flushdns! Literally just did it a few moments ago and immediately pages have loaded quicker than they have been doing :thumb:

Fingers crossed it's not just coincidence, I'll report back later!

In the meantime, can you tell me what I just did by running that command? What is the root of this problem, to prevent from happening again?

Reaction score
No such luck - must have just been coincidence because pages still taking forever to load. Especially those like Youtube or those with (seemingly) flash content. Even this site was sitting at connecting again for a minute or so. :(