Internet interupted by phone


Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
137
Reaction score
4
Hi, I checked in Search but couldn't find anything. Sorry if I missed it.
Since I replaced my non-wireless router with a wireless one, I find that whenever a phone is answered in the house, all the lights on the router flash and the internet connection fails. It takes about 3 to 4 mins after the phone call is finished to get back on the net. This is quite frustrating when bidding on Ebay, amongst other things. There are 2 hard wired phones and a cordless phone in the house and all wall phone outlets have filters. I thought it could have been the cordless phone signal but it also happens when a hard-wired phone is in use. I've bought new filters but made no difference.
Any ideas, please?
Mike
 
Ad

Advertisements

EvanDavis

Silly Fool
Joined
Jun 20, 2010
Messages
5,014
Reaction score
638
What ISP are you with ? Have youcontacted them and reported there may be a fault somewhere ?
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
137
Reaction score
4
I'm with Virgin. No haven't contacted them cos I assumed it was a hardware problem....router, phone, etc.
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Feb 23, 2002
Messages
19,774
Reaction score
1,436
My first guess would have been the filters - but as it's not that, it may be worth trying a few things to see if you can narrow down the problem.

If you unplug all of the phones (but keep your ADSL router/modem plugged in), try calling your landline from a mobile number and see what happens.

Did you make any other changes apart from the router? It seems that there may be a difference in tolerances with the router, or a problem with it.

I know little about how ADSL works, but I know we've got much more knowledgeable people on here - so hopefully you'll get some further ideas :).
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
137
Reaction score
4
Thanks, I'll try that later when my wife has finished talking to everyone in the world!
Just noticed, now that a phone is in use in the house, that in Windows Task manager, my LAN in in "operational" state, and double clicking on the 2 monitor icon in the sys tray, my status is "connected" with a speed of 100.0 Mbps. Yet my internet and emails are locked up!!!
 
Ad

Advertisements

V_R

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Moderator
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
13,557
Reaction score
1,873
Try plugging the router directly into the test socket?

See - http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/troubleshooting.htm

Try plugging the old router back in, see if the fault continues.

~ adsl drops out when phone call is made or received.
  • Incorrectly installed filters - check filters are installed correctly see here.
  • Faulty filters - replace one by one to identify which filter is faulty.
  • Fault on the line - unlikely but possible if all else has been eliminated.
Read more: http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/connectionprobs.htm#ixzz1rCQJ6nMJ
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads


Top