Can't access memory stick

Reaction score
I've got a 64GB memory stick, no brand name, and I've been using it for over two years. It contains nearly 30 documentaries that I download from the net and watch via a media player connected to my TV. I was transferring another documantary onto it from my PC and eventually a message popped up saying "10 seconds remaining" with a blue band scrolling across it. Anyway, after nearly 10 minutes I thought this is not going to finish, so I clicked the cancel button on the message. It then said "Cancelling" with another blue band scrolling across. After nearly 10 minutes more, it was still cancelling, so I assumed that cancelling wasn't working so I pulled out the memory stick as it didn't respond to any key input and couldn't shut down the PC. Now when I boot up the PC then insert the memory stick, it is not recognised. If I boot up the PC with the memory stick already inserted it shows up as "Removable drive F" under My Computer, and when I click on it, the grey reading bar moves slowly across the top of the window, and when it finally reaches the end it just freezes. I have right clicked on the drive and selected Format, but nothing happens. Is this the end of the memory stick, or is there a program that would force formatting? Or would formatting not be the cure for the problem? Thanks.

Reaction score
It is likely beyond repair. Even if you salvage it, I wouldn't trust it. I hope you have it backed up.
What may have happened is that you exceeded the capacity of the drive and it went bonkers.

Reaction score
Thanks for reply.
I don't think it was capacity issues as I checked that before copy/pasting the video. There was 23GB free. Thought it could be the video but it played thru ok when I watched it on my PC. I suppose these things happen now and then with modern electronic devices.

nivrip

Yorkshire Cruncher
Reaction score
Have you tried any of the Data Recovery systems - Recuva, Wise Data Recovery, Recoverit etc.