Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Shoot me

Votes: 2 50.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Is it just me or has Windows now finally broken networking in their products? It used to be fairly straightforward, but as MIcrosoft has added layer on layer of obscure settings and configurations, it has become more and more broken. Now it is practically unusable.
My latest issue is with simply browsing a workgroup - nothing fancy, I just want to see the attached computers and open them to see shared folders or printers. But when I open the 'Network' icon, none are visible. I know from using a third party network IP scanner that I have seven or eight connected PCs, all on the same workgroup, all perfectly visible - only Windows cannot see them! If I manually type in a PC network name in the address bar, I can access that PC and it's shares. But try as I might (and try I have - I am a computer professional for over 25 years!) Windows simply cannot browse the network. Yes, all relevant services are started - But what is interesting is that I cannot run the Net View command anymore - I get "the service has not been started" (and it's more than useless "net helpmsg 1284" suggestion which merely repeats the same worthless phrase).
Interestingly (for what it's worth) two BRAND NEW laptops out of the box similarly fail the net view command and also cannot visually browse the network.
I suspect the ghastly "Homegroup" to be the culprit - If only Microsoft had included an option to completely remove all and every setting related to Homegroups - who on earth needs them? The worst part is that even changing their settings and manually disabling the services associated with them is not enough - like some insidious disease they creep back in and turn themselves back on!

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
I'll need a PhD to get a MS network to ... work.

good luck :)

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score