USB light flashing green on Speedtouch modem.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Sert, May 15, 2005.

  1. Sert

    Sert

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Right, so, my internet is working fine, and I reformat. I install everything back. But, when i start up, the modem (speedtouch 330) has both lights green, i connect, both lights green, but after about a minute online the USB light flashes alot, and my connection is still there, but nothing works.

    Been on the phone to BT all weekend, they sent a replacement modem, same problem, rang them again, and i get a 'no definate answer.'

    (I have tried changing everything, filters, cables, modems, the works, and remember, it WAS working a week ago. And i have done some power managment thing.)

    Got new drivers for MB and everything.

    Also, right now i am on my old computer, and it works fine, but the USB light still flashes, a lot, constantly.

    Thanks.
     
    Sert, May 15, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Sert

    KGB-911

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Likes Received:
    0
    After the reformat have you put SP2 on and installed the USB drivers properly?
     
    KGB-911, May 15, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Sert

    Sert

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah SP2 is on, but it still worked on SP1. And yeah the motherboard usb drivers been updated.
     
    Sert, May 15, 2005
    #3
  4. Sert

    Me__2001 Internet Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    have you got updated modem drivers?
     
    Me__2001, May 15, 2005
    #4
  5. Sert

    Sert

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea the very latest..
     
    Sert, May 15, 2005
    #5
  6. Sert

    Me__2001 Internet Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    which light is flashing?, on my sagem 800-840 modem the left is the phone line right is power
     
    Me__2001, May 15, 2005
    #6
  7. Sert

    Sert

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Umm the USB one...?? It's the left one, if that makes any difference :confused:
     
    Sert, May 15, 2005
    #7
  8. Sert

    Techy

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester
    surely thats the data indicator and is designed to flash when data is passed through.
     
    Techy, May 15, 2005
    #8
  9. Sert

    Sert

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, that's been mentioned by a friend, but it never happened before the reformat, and BT said it wasn;t normal..
     
    Sert, May 15, 2005
    #9
  10. Sert

    Reefsmoka Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    If your net is working fine, then theres nothing wrong.

    Most modems have an "Activity" light which flashes constantly when your on the net, its probably just that and you've never noticed it before.
     
    Reefsmoka, May 15, 2005
    #10
  11. Sert

    Sert

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    So why doesn't it work then? :confused:
     
    Sert, May 15, 2005
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.