Racing Games and me steering wheel

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
I have a Thrustmaster F430 steering wheel.

I've formed the opinion it was originally built for XP.

The latest driver from Thrustmaster for this wheel states it contains a Beta for Win 7.

Within Win 7 only two racing games worked with this wheel Flat Out and Live For Speed.

Some racing games that worked with the wheel in Vista would not work within Win 7.

I figured only being able to play 2 of more than 12 racing games I have was a bit of a waste so I transferred the wheel to my bedroom puter which has XP Pro SP3 as it's primary OS.

Here's the results of how the Thrustmaster F430 steering wheel performed with various racing games in Win XP:

Flat Out

Worked well though handling initially felt a bit woolly.

Track Mania Nations Forever

Did not recognise the wheel. Worked with Logitech cordless joypad but would not allow some commands to be mapped to some controls on the pad.

TOCA 3 Race Driver

Works well but a little sensitive.

Need For Speed Most Wanted

The game wouldn't even run with the wheel connected, all the menu options were constantly scrolling. This game runs ok without the wheel connected.

Need For Speed Underground 2

Works well.

Need For Speed Porsche 2000

Works well. I was very pleased about this as I love this game. Ten years old and the scenery is gorgeous.

Race Driver GRID

The wheel works very well indeed with GRID. It took a little getting used to but by the 4th lap I was getting real good at it. Something of a relief as using the wheel with GRID in both Vista and Win 7 rendered the game unplayable. At last I'm enjoying this almost three years old game.

Lego Racers

The same fault as NFS Most Wanted - constantly scrolling menu making the game unplayable with the wheel.

Driv3r

BSOD when install reached around 80% on two attempts to install. Don't know why. Gave up on it.

EA's Formula One 2002