Problems with computer - not technically minded!!

Reaction score
Hi. New to this site, and hoping for some help. I am not very good with computers, so plain English would help! Computer started playing up about 2 weeks ago. When I log onto internet or e mail (e mail is the worst) it comes up with 're dialing' and sometimes then logs me out, sometimes doesn't. I can be writing an e mail and it will log me out after about a minute of typing.
I've got Norton and have scanned for viruses every week (ish). I did a defrag, don't know what it is but someone told me to do it and how to so I did. Also disk clean up. Norton says system is ok. Sometimes when I log on it says the speed is maybe 14.2 Kbps, where it always used to be 45.2. By the way, we have Windows XP. As I write this its running at 30.5. But even if its on its normal speed, its really slow to do anything. Today I tried to do Norton live updates and after about an hour, logged me off - it had only done 6 out 10 of whatever it is that it was doing!! See what I mean about not being technically minded!
Any help appreciated. Thanks.
Sandy
PS Forgot to say, I did open an e mail which, once opened, looked like it might be dodgy. It said it was from customer services and said you can earn money from your computer, or something. I didn't really read it, just deleted it straight away, but Norton says we have e mail scanning on in and out mail....

Last edited:

Becky

Webmistress
Reaction score
Hi sandyhaynes, welcome to the site :)

I'm just going to move your thread to a more appropriate section, you will get a better response.

Reaction score
Do ya have Nortons with everything.
If it has a firewall you should turn off the XP firewall.
Disconnection about every 15 minutes sounds like it.
2 firewalls will conflict. Go to Start-Control-Panel-Windows Firewall

This happens alot when someone does a Windows update because it installs SP2.