New PC

Reaction score
Hey guys,

It's bonus time and I have been thinking I might buy myself a new computer. I've been using my Sony Vaio laptop for 3 years now, and it's fine for just checking emails, browsing etc etc, but I want a monster PC that I can play games on, do download, store and edit all my photos etc etc.

I am alright with getting a monitor, peripherals, hard drive etc etc. I am just not really sure what to get in terms of box/psu, motherboard, cpu and graphics card. What are the latest things that are out which will stand the test of time (i am aware this is not technically possible, but i would at least like to try!! lol).

Looking to spend around £1000ish.

Thanks.

Bodhi

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
Well, motherboards with the Intel X48 chipset are about to hit the market, at the moment the boards are only on pre-order (expected April) and are going to be pricey.El Linko

So if you're worried about future proofing this chipset could be the one for you.

Asus and Gigabyte are top boys in the motherboard stakes atm.

Get the best video card you can afford, right now that would be one of the Nvidia 8800 series. At least an 8800GT 512Mb. Forget sli dual card setups.

Quad or dual core? Your choice. Unless you are going to seriously multi task or want super duper crunching scores, dual core is best value for money.

If you're going to overclock consider a third party cooler. Thermalright; Noctua; Scythe; Zalman.

AMD AM2 dual core setups are worth considering you can get a 3.2Ghz CPU for around £110.00 which is really good value.

So there's a few things to consider.

After you've bought all the peripherals, how much to spend on the box itself?

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Reaction score