XBOX OR Playstation 2 OR 3 ?s

Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to this gaming world & looking to jump right in! I have purchased a flat panel LED 52" & ready to get started. With a good portion of my money in my tv, I am looking to spend minimum investment w/ a lot of bang for the buck results. Can someone help in this matter? I want a basic system w/ possible add ons / updates for the future.

PLEASE ADVISE IN THE $100 - $200 range

Thanks

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
I'm not sure how much a PS3 costs in the states, but I'd strongly recommend one if you have a 52" HD TV... You may be able to pick a second hand one up for that price.

The PS3 will double up as a DVD/Blue-Ray player, plus as an excellent games console. You can even surf the net and rent films on it. I'm not much of a console gamer, but we use our PS3 all the time for watching films and using the other features (music streaming etc...).

Reaction score
XBOX OR Playstation 2 OR 3 ?

Hello

Thanks for the info Ian Cunningham.

What is your issue with the console format?

Other options available w/ blue ray/DVD setup.

Thanks

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
They are both good consoles.

The PS3 costs more than the Xbox 360 but it does have more facilities.

I understand a mouse and keyboard can be attached to a PS3 and if these can be used with games it will give you an edge over online game players who are using a Gamepad.

The PS3 with a firmware update will also play the new format of 3D movies, which is something to consider.

But, when all is said and done the main criteria for choosing a gaming console is to look at what games are available exclusively for each, then make your choice.

I have an Xbox 360 btw, and I like it a lot :)

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
BT60 said:
What is your issue with the console format?

Other options available w/ blue ray/DVD setup.

Thanks