this folder is shared with other people


C

chriske911

this is what I get when I login with a normal user account
inside the window there is this message
If you delete this folder it will no longer be shared.

Folder:
c:\users\username\appdata\local\temp\WPDNSE
Share name:
c:\users\username\appdata\local\temp\WPDNSE

when I click continue there is no error popping up anymore
but it comes back every time I log in
anyone know what feature this is?

thnx
 
Ad

Advertisements

R

Rastaman

chriske911 said:
this is what I get when I login with a normal user account
inside the window there is this message
If you delete this folder it will no longer be shared.

Folder:
c:\users\username\appdata\local\temp\WPDNSE
Share name:
c:\users\username\appdata\local\temp\WPDNSE

when I click continue there is no error popping up anymore
but it comes back every time I log in
anyone know what feature this is?

thnx

I had the same thing happen to me, and I posted here, but no one replied.
The only references I could find on the web had to do with a slightly
different situation with XP, and none of them mentioned what the folder was
or how to fix the problem.

I booted my machine into XP, deleted the partition, and did a full format of
the HDD, then re-installed RC-1. The WPDNSE thing is gone, and 2 other
bugs are gone, as well. ( I had something similar when I closed Windows
Mail referring to a ppcrlui......folder, and also a UI bug with the mouse
pointer.)

Now the entire OS is working flawlessly. ;-)

Apparently deleting the partition and choosing format from the Vista install
is not the same thing as doing it from "disk management", and doesn't really
clean the disk.
 
K

Kerry Brown

I had similar popups when I accessed a user profile while logged on as
another user. I got a message that I couldn't access the user's folder and
did I want to fix this. I clicked OK, copied some files and forgot about it.
Next time I logged on as the first user I got similar popups. Each time I
logged on the folder name was slightly different. I deleted the second user
from the security tab of the first users profile to fix the problem.
 
Ad

Advertisements

R

Rock

this is what I get when I login with a normal user account
inside the window there is this message
If you delete this folder it will no longer be shared.

Folder:
c:\users\username\appdata\local\temp\WPDNSE
Share name:
c:\users\username\appdata\local\temp\WPDNSE

when I click continue there is no error popping up anymore
but it comes back every time I log in
anyone know what feature this is?

thnx

It's a known bug that will be fixed.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top