Star Wars Battlefront II crashes before game starts after Vista is installed?


Captain Jack Sparrow

Anti-cryptominer
Joined
Jul 1, 2007
Messages
530
Reaction score
104
[SEEMINGLY UNSOLVABLE] Star Wars Battlefront II crashes before game starts in Vista?

I recently reformatted and installed Windows Vista Ultimate on my Asus X80L Laptop, now Star Wars Battlefront II don't work properly. Install is successful, but attemping to play the game, I get "No TnL detected on your display adaptor, continue Y/N?"
If is continued the game will freeze on a blank screen for about 5 min before starting the game. It also takes around 5 min to load maps and levels.

This is not a graphics card problem as the game ran fine when Windows XP Professional was installed.

Normally in Windows XP it takes about 30 secs max to load the game and 40 secs max to load levels and maps.

Is there a setting wrong? Do I have to run the game in compatability mode?

Or will I just have to degrade back to Windows XP Pro? Looks like I will have to.

Can anyone please throw some light onto this problem?
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
2,534
Reaction score
0
Have you tired downloading any patches to see if this corrects the issue? Are you using the latest drivers?


Wiz
 

Captain Jack Sparrow

Anti-cryptominer
Joined
Jul 1, 2007
Messages
530
Reaction score
104
I'll have to do that when I get home as the Internet here is the worst internet I ever used! Dial up - 28.8kbps! :eek:

Anyone know why it is fine in Windows XP then?

Graphics Card: Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family with 256mb graphic RAM.
Direct X 9.0
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
4,081
Reaction score
1
Captain Jack Sparrow said:
I'll have to do that when I get home as the Internet here is the worst internet I ever used! Dial up - 28.8kbps! :eek:

Anyone know why it is fine in Windows XP then?

Graphics Card: Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family with 256mb graphic RAM.
Direct X 9.0

Hi Captain..
Your Graphics doesn't support TnL... In most games, transform and lighting calculations can be performed on the processor with acceptable performance., But as you have installed Vista, there might be the chance that the processor is not upto the same performance as it was with XP and thre for not able to perform the calculations for TnL in which case the game is now asking the graphics to do the calculations, and as your graphics doesn't support TnL, you get the message you do and that would be the reason for the laodingtime..Hope that was of help to you..
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
4,081
Reaction score
1
Captain Jack Sparrow said:
Looks like I'm forced to degrade back to Windows XP Pro. [Sigh]

In my opinion XP Pro is the better..Or maybe thats just because I have had bad luck with Vista
 

Captain Jack Sparrow

Anti-cryptominer
Joined
Jul 1, 2007
Messages
530
Reaction score
104
In my opinion, Windows XP Pro is also better, I only wanted Vista on my laptop because I already have XP Pro on my gaming PC. So I went back to XP Pro. I find Vista rather slow even with a lot of RAM.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Captain Jack Sparrow

Anti-cryptominer
Joined
Jul 1, 2007
Messages
530
Reaction score
104
After looking on Intel's Graphics site, the hardware IS TnL supported.

So, I don't know what's wrong but I downgraded to Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top