Problem connecting a scanner


D

DB

I am trying to connect a Canon 3200f scanner to my friend's machine and
receiving the following message:
"Cannot communicate with scanner. cable may be disconnected. Check status.
scanner driver will be closed. code:2,155,0".
After you close this box another one opens with message:
"Twain data transfer error"
I have tried this scanner on my laptop and it works fine, I've tried it on
one of my other computers and it works perfectly. It's just my friend's
computer(which is only a year old) where the problem is. Sometimes it will
do a preview scan which I would have thought means it's working but 99% of
the time I get the error messages. I have tried swapping the USB cable. I've
tried different USB ports. I have uninstalled and reinstalled the software
3 or 4 times. In device manager it says "This device is working properley".
However I have uninstalled from there and reinstalled with the latest driver
from the Canon website. I have even removed the USB root Hubs from device
manager and rebooted to reinstall and still no joy. In desperation I even
took the computer back to factory settings using the restore disc and still
it won't work. I have searched Google for the answer to no avail. I did find
one sight where it seemed that somebody else had had exactly the same
problem but it was in Russian. Canon are no help because it works ok on
other computers. Please can anybody help me with this problem?
Many thanks
Dave
 
Ad

Advertisements

G

GasMan

You appear to be doing everything you can, except for trying another
scanner if you can get hold of one. I would lay the balme at the twain
drivers at the moment. Are these the same drivers you have on the
other computers?

I am trying to connect a Canon 3200f scanner to my friend's machine and
receiving the following message:
"Cannot communicate with scanner. cable may be disconnected. Check status.
scanner driver will be closed. code:2,155,0".
After you close this box another one opens with message:
"Twain data transfer error"
I have tried this scanner on my laptop and it works fine, I've tried it on
one of my other computers and it works perfectly. It's just my friend's
computer(which is only a year old) where the problem is. Sometimes it will
do a preview scan which I would have thought means it's working but 99% of
the time I get the error messages. I have tried swapping the USB cable. I've
tried different USB ports. I have uninstalled and reinstalled the software
3 or 4 times. In device manager it says "This device is working properley".
However I have uninstalled from there and reinstalled with the latest driver
from the Canon website. I have even removed the USB root Hubs from device
manager and rebooted to reinstall and still no joy. In desperation I even
took the computer back to factory settings using the restore disc and still
it won't work. I have searched Google for the answer to no avail. I did find
one sight where it seemed that somebody else had had exactly the same
problem but it was in Russian. Canon are no help because it works ok on
other computers. Please can anybody help me with this problem?
Many thanks
Dave
Please remove obvious from email address if emailing.
 
D

DB

You just lost your bet Wayne. I did install the software before I connected
the scanner. BTW your link doesn't appear to work
Dave
 
W

wayne

you did not mention that you had installed the software first the link is
from the Canon web site they have the manual and quickstart guide there. is
the computer that is not working have USB 2.0 ports?

Wayne
 
G

Guest

DB, try one more time. But, first uninstall everything relating to your
scanner,
including the accompanying application. Disconnect the scanner and reboot.
Shutdown again and connect the scanner again and reboot, now XP's plug&play
feature
should come up with a balloon stating that new hardware was found and ask
you if you want to install it. Answer Yes, it will then install and/or ask
you to insert
the accompanying installation disk for drivers, etc. Voila! (I hope)
Happy putering :~)
 
R

Rick Merrill

.....
Does it work with NO usb hubs in place? (I've seen similar problems
on my XP PRO SP2).
 
D

DB

Rick Merrill said:
....

Does it work with NO usb hubs in place? (I've seen similar problems
on my XP PRO SP2).
Hi Guys
Thanks for all your replies. Just to let you know what else I've tried. I
have uninstalled everything and reinstalled about 5 times now. I have
plugged directly into a USB 2.0 port with no USB Hubs connected. What I have
done is plugged my Canon Lide 30 into her machine which loaded perfectly and
is working fine and I have her 3200f loaded on my machine. I might see if
she wants to swap. Can't really return the scanner to the shop as it works
on all other machines ok. I have sent an email to Canon asking for their
help but I doubt I'll have any luck.
Cheers
 
W

wayne

reinstalling does no good as when you uninstall it tends to leave stuff in
the registry. Most times you will have to go into the registry manually an
do a search for Canon

Wayne
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
DB said:
I am trying to connect a Canon 3200f scanner to my friend's machine and
receiving the following message:
"Cannot communicate with scanner. cable may be disconnected. Check status.
scanner driver will be closed. code:2,155,0".
After you close this box another one opens with message:
"Twain data transfer error"

Dave
Hi. i found this post using google, because i got the same problem ) i am from russia. So.. there are may be 2 reasons why your scan dont work correctly. 1. too long cable. 2. USB 2.0 is on in BIOS. Restart your PC and switch it to USB 1.0 :)
Sorry for my english if it is not good...
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2006
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Thanks...had the same problem with Canon 9950F

Thanks so much for the post geneses. I recently moved houses and after setting up my Canon 9950F which had been working perfectly at my old house, it no longer worked and gave the same error described above.

I replaced the cable with a shorter one as suggested and it works perfectly now. I must have switched the cables during the move.

I could have spent days, weeks or months trying to fix a non-existent software error so thanks.

BTW, I am using USB 2.0 with no problems. I also wonder whether it might have something to do with cable quality rather than specifically length. The cable I was using initially was a cheapy and the one I replaced it with was a good quality shielded one with one of those "round jiggas" at either end before the actual USB connection. Pardon my ignorance but I don't what the jigga does but I suppose it serves some purpose related to quality.
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 13, 2007
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Today I had a problem connecting my Canon PIXMA MP810 scanner, and had an error code "2,155,0". Before this, the scanner did seem to preview once but then not again. I googled and luckily found this site. No USB cable came with the printer itself, but the suppling store through in a 2m long USB cable. After looking at the suggestions on this site, I swapped the cable with a 1m long one that I use for a different device, and 'hey presto' the scanner worked! Fantastic! (This was after I had already been back to the store twice,with them testing the scanner on one of their computers, and telling me that it couldn't be the cable and that I hadn't followed the instructins properly and installed the software first...etc,etc.., which I had.!)

Thanks for the help guys---shorter USB cable IS the answer!
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2007
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Error code 2,155,0

Hi All, thanks to the suggestions made here I too also solved my problem. I was trying to connect my Canon MP160. I also had a problem trying to scan(error code 2,155,0). I initially purchased a 5 meter USB cable. I returned it and took another 5 meter as well as a 2 meter cable. Belive it or not the new 5 meter also did not work. However the 2 meter cable worked.

Thanks

Windows xp sp2.
 

BDR

Joined
Apr 25, 2007
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
This problem also occurred with the Canon MP960 multifunction printer (USA version), the majority of functions (print, read / write of memory card, printer status and configuration change) were working except for scanning. When a scan was attempted, the scanning initiated message was seen on both the PC and printer LCD. However, after about 15 seconds, the scan error code 2,1550,0 was also received. The USB cable (6ft / 1.8m, spare one I had lying around) was connected to a USB port on the motherboard.

This was resolved with the use of the a different USB cable. I purchased an APC Premium A-B USB cable, 6ft / 1.8m, Model USB2-6F-1V.

As of Wednesday, April 25th, all printer functions, including scanning, are working properly.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Scanner -Error code 2,155,0

I had this problem with my brand new scanner Canoscan 8800F. After reading forums, I realize the problem is in communication PC with scanner - data from scanner to PC are send very fast, bad or too long USB cable are not to able recieve them. Answer is very good, shielded and short USB cable.
I have PC with Win XP SP2 with all next service packs, Athlon XP 2600+ 2GB RAM. I used USB cable I have got with scanner with "round jiggas" (witch are ferrite rings to eliminate interferencies). This cable seems to be good quality, but it once works, once not.
I bought new good cable Belkin, but it did not work.
At last, after some hard thinking, I disabled CPUIDLE witch runs on my comp and lowers CPU temperaturese. This SW "load" CPU to 100% with IDLE loop.
After disabling it, voila - the scanner is working OK.
FOREWER!
I hope. :)
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
I signed up just to post in this thread.
By listening to the guy from Russia, I unpuged the factory USB cable, and used a better quality one, but the same length. Its a clear USB cable I use for my Camera, or any camera for that matter.

That solved my problem, Greetz fly out to Russia
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Geneses...also just registered to say cheers.. different cable works a treat..

Canon support Suck!

Cheers
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2008
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
error code: 2,155,0

Ditto
I struggled for three hours installing and uninstalling softwear and agonizing over registry entires. Then I read this thread and tried a different cable. The scanner now works perfectly (in spite of being connected to a USB extension cable).

Ironically the scanner's quick start guide explicitly warns against using a different USB cable. Clearly the canon engineers understand that the quality of the signal through the USB cable is critical to the functioning of the scanner. Yet nowhere in troubleshooting guide does Canon suggest trying a different cable. Obviously such advice would point to design shortcomings in the product. It apears Canon made a deliberate decision to hide this potential problem.

Bottom line, error code: 2,155,0 means the supplied USB cable is for ****. Sort term solution: try another cable . Long term solution, try another company.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2012
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
I tried different cables but nth. worked. Than I exchanged port with mouse, both are 2.0 usb.

Scanner worked with no problem, with any cable.

Thanks for pointing out a direction that produced a new solution.

regards,
tadej
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 1, 2012
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Great thread here!

I had the same problem. What solved it for me was simply unplugging and re-plugging the USB cable.

My Canon MP 530 is connect to my FritzBox router, which uses the software called "AVM FRITZ!Box USB-Fernanschluss" to make the printer accessible to my network. It works well for printing, but for scannng, I have to manually connect the printer to one PC "permanently" in the software. So the other PCs can print again, I undo that and set it back to "autoconnect". It's a hassle for scanning.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads

Scanner problems 2
scanner problem 0
scanner problem 1
scanner problem 1
scanner problem 4
Scanner problem 0
scanner problems 1
Scanner problems... 5

Top