Playing 320kbps


Joined
Jan 4, 2003
Messages
7,537
Reaction score
586
Ok won't go into too much detail

Been using Winamp for many many many years. I do like it, however over the past few years I have been having problems playing 320kbps

It sounds distorted when the full track gets going
I'm not sure if it's my sound card or a codec

I am currently using the onboard sound driver with my Sabertooth 990fx which uses;

Realtek® ALC 892 8-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC
Absolute Pitch 192kHz/ 24-bit True BD Lossless Sound

Still sounds horrid.

Any ideas folks?
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Feb 23, 2002
Messages
18,996
Reaction score
1,021
I can't imagine it would be Winamp causing the problems, but you never know. No harm in trying VLC player to see if that fares any better:

https://www.videolan.org/vlc/index.en-GB.html

Do you have the stock Windows audio drivers installed, or are you using the full Realtek ones (complete with system tray icon, etc...). If the latter, can you try disabling an equaliser/advanced settings in the system tray app.

Is it only 320kpbs audio that is problematic?
 
Ad

Advertisements

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
20,115
Reaction score
1,622
I've also no idea what's causing the prob but quite a few years ago when I was using Winamp the makers stated they weren't making it anymore so I stopped using it.

I now use foobar and I've tried lots of them. Definitely my preferred audio player, it will also burn CD's from cue files should you so desire (you have to add the foo.burninate add-on to enable that function).

Might be worth a try, I liked Winamp a lot but all (some) good things come to an end.
 

V_R

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Moderator
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
13,166
Reaction score
1,557
Yeah Winamp is dead. Not that I use it much anymore thanks to Spotify, but give MusicBee a go.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2003
Messages
7,537
Reaction score
586
Ok i Did use VLC. First one I tried tbh.

No distortion whatsoever!

It seems either WinAMP is playing up or I have an incorrect plugin codec running
A shame I do really like WinAMP
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ian
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Winamp?!??! I gave up on shortly after giving up on XP... Wow... was shocked to see a question about it... Brings back the days of commodore vic20s and amigas...
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top