Next New Rig

Reaction score
Guys,

I'm onto another new rig now, and wanted your opinions on the below, I only just built another machine a few weeks back however I've now parted that into a rack mount case, as essentially it was a server machine which I tried to pull off as a desktop.

Was quite a waste of money, so have put it back into a server environment.

Anyway, I have enclosed an image, can you let me know your thoughts on the rig.

I also had a question, has Microsoft ironed out the issues with x64. I know for a fact that a Q6600 will perform much better under an x64 environment. However I'm a little concerned with driver issues. Is anyone else running x64 XP?

Specification

Chris

Adywebb

Growing old....
Reaction score
Chris that spec looks good - I´m running Server X64 with a dual xeon with no problems with drivers, so I would imagine it will be fine.

The Asus P5K boards are great with Q6600´s G0 stepping versions :thumb:

Reaction score
Ady,

That's what I'm a tad worried about, are Dabs knowingly selling G0 versions?

Nothing on there identifies them as being G0.

V_R

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Reaction score
Nice spec Chirs, that quad is not the G0 as its the 105w TDP version, not the 95w TDP. They aint got the G0's on their site. :)

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
I've got the Q6600 and P5K as recommended and I love them :) Are you going to be gaming much, if so you should be able to get an 8800 for a little bit more - I'm sure I only paid about £160 for mine.

Reaction score
I don't expect to do much gaming, however I do play Counter Strike now and again.

I'm sure the 8600GTS can handle most things, getting an 8800 would be quite pointless, as I know they are the top of the line in the market, something I don't really need.

Or am I wrong. I've included the updated specification list below.

Specification

I don't think I'll be getting the CPU at Dabs, I'll grab a G0 from Overclockers.

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
Reaction score