Moving XP from 80G HDD to 160G HDD

G

I'm sure this has been asked before but...

I'm a novice home user and recently bought a 160 Gig HDD. I want to use it
as my C drive without the problem of re-installing everything. How do I do
this. Obviously I am getting errors as some system files do not copy (as they
are in use!!)

Intent is to use the old HDD as a new D drive (slave).
Any ideas anyone?

D

DL

Often a new hd will be supplied with a utility to do so.If it wasnt go to
the hd manu web site, there will be one their. Ensure you read the how to.

A

Alec S.

Alan said:
I'm sure this has been asked before but...

I'm a novice home user and recently bought a 160 Gig HDD. I want to use it
as my C drive without the problem of re-installing everything. How do I do
this. Obviously I am getting errors as some system files do not copy (as they
are in use!!)

Intent is to use the old HDD as a new D drive (slave).
Any ideas anyone?

You best bet is to use a drive imaging application. I personally swear by PowerQuest DriveImage 6 but that's both commercial and
long gone (it has been replaced by Norton DriveImage 8 and Norton Ghost 10). Many people like Norton Ghost but again it's
commercial. A cheaper option is Acronis' TrueImage which I have heard good things about. There are however others that you could
go with, including some free ones.

Whichever one you choose, you will need to "copy" the drive to the new one. Since you are copying a system drive (the one with the
OS), the process cannot be (usually) be completed while in Windows (a high-end imager may be able to pull it off but even then, not
always). What will most likely happen is that you will need to boot into DOS mode to run the program (with a boot disk-most
programs will provide you with the image, you have to provide your own floppy if you didn't buy it in a box.) Some programs don't