Macromedia Flash

G

I'm basically a novice on a Dell Dimension 8200, running Windows XP, including all upgrades, with 512 mb RAM. 80GB total memory -- and I'm interested in maintaining this computer system to the best of my ability. For quite some time now, certain websites and e-card sites are very slow in coming up -- and, invariably, the holdup has been caused by a Macromedia Flash demand to be downloaded, or, without the download, I won't be able to view the website in question. Invariably, I click the Macromedia thing out, and I can view the website perfectly well. From what I have gleaned, MM Flash is mainly for people who design their own websites, which I don't, and have no intention of doing. Can anyone tell me if MM Flash is of any benefit to a casual user? If not, is there a way I can get ride of Macro's interference? Thanks so much. Cheryl

D

dev

cheryl said:
I'm basically a novice on a Dell Dimension 8200, running Windows XP, including all upgrades, with 512 mb RAM. 80GB total memory -- and I'm interested in maintaining this computer system to the best of my ability. For quite some time now, certain websites and e-card sites are very slow in coming up -- and, invariably, the holdup has been caused by a Macromedia Flash demand to be downloaded, or, without the download, I won't be able to view the website in question. Invariably, I click the Macromedia thing out, and I can view the website perfectly well. From what I have gleaned, MM Flash is mainly for people who design their own websites, which I don't, and have no intention of doing. Can anyone tell me if MM Flash is of any benefit to a casual user? If not, is there a way I can get ride of Macro's interference? Thanks so much. Cheryl

Flash and its companion Shockwave are animation and rendering design
tools, true. But the casual surfer need only install the browser
plug-ins, to be able to view these efforts - which are increasingly common.

See http://www.macromedia.com for info and the downloads.