Linux Mint Cinnamon 18.2 realsed


Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
5,758
Reaction score
552
Linux Mint Cinnamon 18.2 both 32bit and 64 bit download is now available for download:thumb::thumb::thumb::thumb::thumb::thumb: Having said that I will hang fire for a couple of weeks before I install it.:lol::lol::lol:
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Feb 23, 2002
Messages
19,087
Reaction score
1,053
Thanks for the heads up @bootneck02 :).

I've tried using Mint quite a bit, primarily because of the Linux devotees on here. I still find using it more difficult than Windows for my needs, but I do like having a go every so often, just to see how it progresses. I still prefer Ubuntu overall, but I can see the benefits of Mint.
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Feb 23, 2002
Messages
19,087
Reaction score
1,053
Upgraded my VM to 18.2 now, only took a few moments - but I had to look up how to do it!

Menu > System Upgrade (fully updated) > Edit > Upgrade to Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
5,758
Reaction score
552
I think Ian the thing about Linux Distros is you choose the one that suits you. Eg I like Mint Cinnamon it feels like Windows in many respects, it is different but the feel of it seems familiar and you do not have to have any technical knowledge. Obviously you feel Ubuntu you are more at home with that distro, horses for courses. It is more about what or rather what feels good for you.:user: :thumb::thumb:
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ian

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
10,496
Reaction score
952
Thanks for the heads up @bootneck02 :).

I've tried using Mint quite a bit, primarily because of the Linux devotees on here. I still find using it more difficult than Windows for my needs, but I do like having a go every so often, just to see how it progresses. I still prefer Ubuntu overall, but I can see the benefits of Mint.

What sort of difficulties ? :cool:

@bootneck02 are you diving in and updating. I usually give any new updates a week or two before diving in as most bugs have been squashed by then by braver folk. :lol:
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Feb 23, 2002
Messages
19,087
Reaction score
1,053
What sort of difficulties ? :cool:
Familiarity and compatibility with software I use - nothing that prevents me using it, but I certainly find Windows much more productive for work. I imagine that if I had a different job (i.e. coder, developer) or more time, I would find using Linux quite fun as a desktop OS.

I use very light versions of Linux for small servers (I have a Linux print server and the NAS is Linux powered) and I like the fact that I can just SSH in and use terminal to control them.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
5,758
Reaction score
552
What sort of difficulties ? :cool:

@bootneck02 are you diving in and updating. I usually give any new updates a week or two before diving in as most bugs have been squashed by then by braver folk. :lol:
I usually download the ones up to 3 as 4 & 5 are rely for developers and I am certainly one of those, I know my place, so far I haven't had a problem, fingers crossed.
 

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
20,155
Reaction score
1,661
I shall give it a week then change to the new version.

I must admit I'm loathe to use the term 'upgrade' cos that's what Microsoft called their change from me using 7 to 10. That was an upgrade? Debatable ;)
 

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
10,496
Reaction score
952
Familiarity and compatibility with software I use - nothing that prevents me using it, but I certainly find Windows much more productive for work. I imagine that if I had a different job (i.e. coder, developer) or more time, I would find using Linux quite fun as a desktop OS.

I use very light versions of Linux for small servers (I have a Linux print server and the NAS is Linux powered) and I like the fact that I can just SSH in and use terminal to control them.
Ah right yes it does take time to learn different software. So do you need I am guessing some Windows specific stuff ?
I am not up on networking, can you not shh into a Windows set up then ? If not how on earth do they control them then. I am almost sure that you can shh into a gui environment with a linux set up too but most folk just use the terminal due to the lower overhead.

:cool:
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Feb 23, 2002
Messages
19,087
Reaction score
1,053
Ah right yes it does take time to learn different software. So do you need I am guessing some Windows specific stuff ?

I am not up on networking, can you not shh into a Windows set up then ? If not how on earth do they control them then. I am almost sure that you can shh into a gui environment with a linux set up too but most folk just use the terminal due to the lower overhead.
Yeah, there are quite a few apps that are Windows only - I could run them via Wine, possibly - but even Office 2016 on Linux isn't straight forward. I wouldn't be able to use OO or other alternatives for the work, even though they're fine for most things.

There are ways to get remtoe commandline access to Windows, but I normally just use RDP so that I've got a GUI. On the mini Linux servers I've got running, I just use SSH as all I need to do is run "apt-get update" or a few other basic commands each month :).
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
5,758
Reaction score
552
Yes thanks Uncle Urmas for the link, I have downloaded 18.2 it is dead easy and is up and running. I only took about 10-15 mins piece of cake.:thumb::thumb::thumb::user::user::user:
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2007
Messages
17
Reaction score
2
I think, that it is a nececcity for a computer specialist to use MS Windows. But Linux for me is a fun and thrilling activity. Another point is that apart from ssh there is VNC, which helps me a lot.
 

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
10,496
Reaction score
952
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
5,758
Reaction score
552
Welcome to PCR Chereda and enjoy, we also support that ghastly Microsoft operating systems as well as the great Linux distro's:thumb::user:
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top