Windows XP Internet speed


BigJay

Kingsize Crunchie
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
608
Reaction score
5
Ok guys, here we go, 1st question ever.
Since I've installed sp2, my internet speed seems to have dropped to a speed simular to using a 52k modem!
It says its running at 576k but It takes ages to load a screen, which should not be!
It also now gives me the old Cannot Find Page screen, like I'm off line, but I aint, and have to disconnect, then reconnect, to carry on surfing,download, play or what ever.
Give us a clue.
Cheers
 

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,433
Reaction score
1,000
Ok, give us a clue ...

What modem? What ISP? What set-up?

:D
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Feb 23, 2002
Messages
18,970
Reaction score
1,011
Do files download at a slower speed, or do pages just load up slower?
 

BigJay

Kingsize Crunchie
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
608
Reaction score
5
ISP- demon, modem-Alcatel, set up?

It seems like it's the pages.
 

pikakilla

Proud Cruncher!
Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
245
Reaction score
0
its a wires set-up
i reckon its the just the valves on his pc warming up
he has slowdown playing solitaire
 

BigJay

Kingsize Crunchie
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
608
Reaction score
5
pikakilla said:
its a wires set-up
i reckon its the just the valves on his pc warming up
he has slowdown playing solitaire
Yeh, thanks for filling the boys in bro.
 
Ad

Advertisements

BigJay

Kingsize Crunchie
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
608
Reaction score
5
Well that told a story.
Page after page of "This test failed due to a server timeout or other error"
not one of about 30 tests worked.
Come on you guys!
 

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,433
Reaction score
1,000
See if them 'Froggies' have got any updated drivers for their modem ... better still, ask for a replacment to the Actatel. (the goffer is probably nackard)
 

BigJay

Kingsize Crunchie
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
608
Reaction score
5
updated driver, no better.
Spoke to Demon helpdesk,Mike said"change your dns servers to this and that, that'll sort it.
Thanks Demon.
It's no better!
 
Ad

Advertisements

BigJay

Kingsize Crunchie
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
608
Reaction score
5
BigJay said:
updated driver, no better.
Spoke to Demon helpdesk,Mike said"change your dns servers to this and that, that'll sort it.
Thanks Demon.
It's no better!
A bit of an apology to Mike and Demon.
The advise given didn't work untill I shut down and re-started, although I was told I wouldn't need to do that.....wrong!.
Now, all things are go.......If only PCReview loaded as quick as all other sites I visit!
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads

Internet Speed 6
Windows XP Speeds 7
Windows XP SP3 & Speed? 2
Windows XP FTP upload speed 11
Windows XP BB speed testing 2
Windows XP Browser speed test 2
Windows XP Media Player SPEED control 1
Windows XP Really slow browser speeds 6

Top