Internet Speed

Discussion in 'Windows' started by Molyfar, Dec 5, 2018 at 12:10 PM.

  1. Molyfar

    Molyfar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hampshire, England
    I am having an argument with my ISP (Utility Warehouse) who claims that my internet speed is more than adequate.

    "We've checked your line and can't see any issues with the broadband signal speed your router is receiving, details below.

    Uptime: 4 days 5 hours 41 minutes 55 seconds
    Line Rate: Upstream: 20 Mbps / Downstream: 79.99 Mbps

    No incidents or faults have been identified."


    Is there a way that I can independently check this, please? I do not agree with them.
     
    Molyfar, Dec 5, 2018 at 12:10 PM
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Molyfar

    V_R ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Likes Received:
    1,406
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    www.speedtest.net - Post the results.

    - What are you paying for?
    That would suggest your on a 80/20 service and are synced at full speed. You should be getting a real world speed of something like 74Mbps down and 18Mbps up.

    If you're not then it depends on how much less it is, basically if its less than 60Mbps you might have a case, if its no far off what I posted above they won't care.

    - Does it slow down at peak times?
    - Do several speed tests at different times of day, using different test servers.
    - Make an account on the site above so you can log the results.


    Also post the results from this test.
    https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest

    If the single threaded performance is bad then it would feel like your connected is slow.
     
    V_R, Dec 5, 2018 at 1:19 PM
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Molyfar

    Molyfar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hampshire, England
    https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest
    See attached

    www.speedtest.net
    Result ID
    7855462654
    Ping ms
    168
    Download Mbps
    1.73
    Upload Mbps
    8.18
     

    Attached Files:

    Molyfar, Dec 5, 2018 at 2:37 PM
    #3
  4. Molyfar

    V_R ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Likes Received:
    1,406
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Oh dear. Yeah that's not good.

    By the way, is that via wireless? I should have said ideally you need to be testing via a wired connection, to eliminate any wireless interference.


    Ok, question time.

    - Do you have a phone, is there any noise on the line. Dial 17070, option 2.
    - Describe your setup, what modem and/or router?
    - Can you post your line stats from your router?
    - Is the router plugged into the master socket, have you tried the test socket? - https://uno.help/knowledge-base/article/what-is-the-test-socket
     
    V_R, Dec 5, 2018 at 4:28 PM
    #4
    Ian likes this.
  5. Molyfar

    Molyfar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hampshire, England
    It is wireless and connected to the master socket. The modem/router is in the same room as my laptop. Dialled 17070 and got a recorded message saying my home number.

    What are line stats?
     
    Molyfar, Dec 5, 2018 at 5:20 PM
    #5
  6. Molyfar

    TriplexDread

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Likes Received:
    555
    Location:
    Where ever I want to be
    TriplexDread, Dec 5, 2018 at 11:30 PM
    #6
    Molyfar likes this.
  7. Molyfar

    V_R ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Likes Received:
    1,406
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Needs to be wired really mate, grab an Ethernet cable, connect your laptop to the router. Speaking of which....


    - Is there any noise on the line. Crackling, hissing etc.
    - Describe your setup, what modem and/or router do you have?
    - Can you post your line stats from your router? - These are the connection details, Something like SNR, Attenuation, Connection speeds and alike.
    - Is the router plugged into the master sockets test socket? The test socket is the one behind the front plate and it bypasses all your internal wiring, like this - https://uno.help/knowledge-base/article/what-is-the-test-socket
     
    V_R, Dec 6, 2018 at 9:31 AM
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.