Help! Knackered my mothers computer! :o(

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am no expert on computers, but can normally find my way round...

My mother has a 3 year old tiny computer which came preinstalled with Windows XP. She was having problems with her hard disk, so I installed a new one but as the computer was preinstalled with XP, I didnt have a disk to use on it in order to reinstall XP.

I have an old Windows ME disk, which I installed to see if it would work. It did - hooray! My local computer shop said they could make me up a disk of XP Home to install on the computer as it did come preinstalled and all I'd need to put in is the product key on the side of the pc.

OK, next time I was at my mothers, I forgot the XP Home disk. However, a friend of mine has XP Professional and I borrowed her disk. However, as hers is professional and my mothers is home it wouldn't accept my mothers product key, so I tried it with my friends. (I know, bad me!) I told my mother I would reinstall XP Home next time I was visiting.

Four weeks later, her computer is going good guns, no problems apart from messages coming up saying that it cant run updates. I put this down to it being on my friends copy of professional, and tell her I can fix this by installing home...which I did and this is where the sh1t hits the fan. :(

Wouldn't allow to me install and scrubbed the professional. Left with a computer not working and an extremely ****ed off sister and mother who said the computer would've been ok if I'd left it alone. I've reformatted, deleted partions but to no avail. I've had the hard disk tested and its working fine, so thats not the problem.