Dual Core Processor

Reaction score
I am new to overclocking and was wondering if it is possible to overclock an AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor?

Any info. would be much appreciated.

Me__2001

Internet Junkie
Reaction score
yes it is, i was reading on the overclockers forums today and one of the members has a 4400 running at 3Ghz, i think he's running phase change but its still impressive

if you go to www.cpuid.com and download clockgen you can OC from windows

edit : actually just checked they dont have a version for X2 CPU's so it looks like its from BIOS only, also keep the Vcore below 1.45 volts unless you really wanna start pushing it

Last edited:
Reaction score
Nice link, I`ll check it out.

Thanks friend :)

Edit: I`ll not attempt it until I have enough info. I`d probably end up breaking something. I`ll see what I can discover.

Thanks again.

Last edited:

crazylegs

Member Extraordinaire
Reaction score
Some people just can't leave anything alone.....If it ain't broke don't fix it....Because otherwise you'll break it....:p

Reaction score
Very true and I will definitely not attempt to OC it if I think I will be unsuccessful. I was just curious at first to know whether it can be done. After reading into it a little further it seems that it can be overclocked. I will leave it be for a few weeks/months and see what happens with others over a period of time after overclocking theirs.

I also have to take into account that I will be invalidating the warranty.

Reaction score
We overclock them coz the video encoding is the the thing it excels at. CP ripping...Image editing....the CPU(s) need to be overclocked to get the best for that.

One thing to watch for...the CPUs wont (generally) OC to the same level. One CPU can be disabled, and guys are finding that one does better than the other, and the lower speed wins, obvioulsy. They kick out a lot of heat, so have a good cooler!

:)

Kenny

The strange overclocker....

Alf

Yank Upstart
Reaction score