Can you improve on this? (mobo, mem, CPU)


RufusW

King Cruncher
Joined
Oct 31, 2005
Messages
83
Reaction score
0
Hey Guys,


this was suggested by Waynos but I was wondering if anybody had any killer ideas... etc etc....

Aria - prices exc. VAT.

Xilence 480W Gaming PSU £ 24.25
Gigabyte GA-M57SLi-S4 Socket AM2 Motherboard£ 44.25 250GB Maxtor/Seagate SATA2 £ 24.50 AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5400+ 2.80GHz (Retail AM2) £ 43.95 GeIL 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Black Dragon (2x1GB) £ 22.45
I have a XFX Geforce 6600GT PCI-E 128mb DDR3, sound card, TV card and 2 * 250 G HDDs I'll use in this new system.

any help much apprciated :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
4,081
Reaction score
1
You could make quite huge improvements on this, the question is thouhg, how fat is your bank account...???

 
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
6,175
Reaction score
2
RufusW said:
Hey Guys,


this was suggested by Waynos but I was wondering if anybody had any killer ideas... etc etc....

Aria - prices exc. VAT.

Xilence 480W Gaming PSU £ 24.25
Gigabyte GA-M57SLi-S4 Socket AM2 Motherboard£ 44.25 250GB Maxtor/Seagate SATA2 £ 24.50 AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5400+ 2.80GHz (Retail AM2) £ 43.95 GeIL 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Black Dragon (2x1GB) £ 22.45
I have a XFX Geforce 6600GT PCI-E 128mb DDR3, sound card, TV card and 2 * 250 G HDDs I'll use in this new system.

any help much apprciated :)

Same set up as I have+ two EXTRA 160g SATA HDD FOR BACK UP> 600w PSU> 3g RAM. The MOBO+CPU is one of the best I have ever owned second to none:nod: CPU runs at 2.8 no Over clocking its so easy to set-up And you can add as many extras as you wish:thumb:
 

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
10,937
Reaction score
1,182
Meself I would go for one of these psu's,

http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Comp...mcF9zdHlsZT1saXN0JnBfcHJvZHVjdHNQZXJQYWdlPSY=

An do you really need to have a SLI mobo?

user.gif
 

Waynos_Face

New Cruncher
Joined
Apr 12, 2008
Messages
1,458
Reaction score
0
JaLing said:
PSU PSU PSU..... no offense but I won't get anything smaller than 600Ws

Why???

In me dads Media Centre i am building for Xmas, i have

Intel E4600 With Thermaltake Cooler
Mobo
2GB RAM
160GB HDD
750GB HDD
8800GT 256Mb
Hauppage Nova S+ TV Card
Belkin Wireless PCI Card
DVD/CD
2 x Hiper Silent 12Cm fans

All on a Xilence 420W PSU, it has been running for a week nonstop and is perfect.

People think they need loads of power but you don't, people recommend what they know and thats that.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Waynos_Face

New Cruncher
Joined
Apr 12, 2008
Messages
1,458
Reaction score
0
Abarbarian said:
An do you really need to have a SLI mobo?

user.gif

I picked out that mobo as its probably the best AM2 Motherboard for £50, along with the ASUS M2N-SLI, it being SLI is just a bonus.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
4,081
Reaction score
1
Waynos_Face said:
People think they need loads of power but you don't, people recommend what they know and thats that.

Very true, but i'd say when it comes to power supply its best to go that little bit bigger..You never know when you might need that extra bit of oomph...
 

RufusW

King Cruncher
Joined
Oct 31, 2005
Messages
83
Reaction score
0
Thanks for the replies.


Do you reckon Hiper 530w PSU HPU-4M530 £ 33.27 would be okay to run all that plus the two more HDDS (3*250G in total) plus TV card, sound card and a 6600GT? I'd be happy with the name brand as well.

Sounds like the mobo and CPU are good so I'll stick with them.
 

Waynos_Face

New Cruncher
Joined
Apr 12, 2008
Messages
1,458
Reaction score
0
Dude, if i can run the media centre i posted on 420 then 530 for yours is fine, although some on here have had bad experiences with Hiper, i only use there fans.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Waynos_Face

New Cruncher
Joined
Apr 12, 2008
Messages
1,458
Reaction score
0
Why!?

Because for £50 you get a 2.8Ghz Dual Core CPU, cheap as cheaps and they are quite good as well, my brother has a 2.4Ghz i have a Q6600 at 3.0Ghz and i can't tell the difference, unless i'm gaming at high res or encoding video.

Whats your suggestion then?
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2003
Messages
5,788
Reaction score
4
Well if has the budget for it I really recommend Q6600 for its price and overclocking ability. Definitely well happy with it here.
 

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
20,252
Reaction score
1,755
Hiper PSU's are crap.

OCZ PSU's are good.

Corsair PSU's are better.

My media centre is running quite happily on a four or five year old Jeantech 350W PSU purchased from PC World.

480W is enough for the proposed system, in my opinion, but leaves no room for upgrades and extras.
 

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
20,252
Reaction score
1,755
Intel & AMD

Real world observation:

I have Crysis Warhead installed both on the machine in my signature and this one, brief spec:

AMD XP6400+ 3.2Ghz Dual Core
Asus M2N-sli Deluxe
2Gb Corsair 8500
BFG 8800GTS 640Mb

The game runs noticeably smoother on the AMD system.

Perhaps it's the extra Ghz in the AMD CPU, dunno, but that's the truth. And bear in mind I have a better video card in the Intel system.
 
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
2,534
Reaction score
0
floppybootstomp said:
Hiper PSU's are crap.

OCZ PSU's are good.

Corsair PSU's are better.

My media centre is running quite happily on a four or five year old Jeantech 350W PSU purchased from PC World.

480W is enough for the proposed system, in my opinion, but leaves no room for upgrades and extras.

I second that. :)

Before I came here I used a Hiper PSU and then I started to have problems with it. Then I switched to Corsair and I have never looked back, it’s the best PSU I have ever owned. :thumb:



Although years ago Hiper were one of the best around but not anymore.


Regards,

Wiz
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 6, 2003
Messages
5,788
Reaction score
4
floppybootstomp said:
Hiper PSU's are crap.

OCZ PSU's are good.

Corsair PSU's are better.

My media centre is running quite happily on a four or five year old Jeantech 350W PSU purchased from PC World.

480W is enough for the proposed system, in my opinion, but leaves no room for upgrades and extras.

I agree but the only Jeanteach I had blew up on me. The only PSU so far that has done this except the QTECH and a certain thread on here and Postill spring to mind. He wrote in big red letters "throw away the qtech psu" reminds me where is the lad?
 

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
20,252
Reaction score
1,755
Cambridge.

Studying to take Blair's chair, lol

And we're not talking Tony Blair here....
 
Ad

Advertisements

RufusW

King Cruncher
Joined
Oct 31, 2005
Messages
83
Reaction score
0
I remember hearing Hiper were very good (at least 2 years ago), but I'll look at getting an OCZ or Corsair PSU around 500W.

Had a P4 so might as well mix it up. Probably won't be expanding the system.

Thanks again guys.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Top