Windows Vista Driver Software for Vista

Reaction score
I'm a bit new to all this and as I understand from other Vista users, my problem is not a new one....Simply, when I "upgraded" to Vista from XP via a new laptop, I found great difficulty succesfully installing drivers and other software for devices which were formerly a breeze with XP.

My latest is for my camcorder which is one of the old Sony DCR-HC19E type which uses tapes. A program called "Picture Package" is provided on disc to convert the images to digital format on the laptop. Windows XP naturally installs the required drivers for the camera.

Vista does not support :
a) Picture Package
b) Drivers for the Camera itself

I have attempted to find compatible software which will do the jobs and have installed something called PMB Launcher which seems to be similar to Picture Package....However, until I can get the images from the camera I cannot find out if this program works or not !

I have tried contacting Sony and Windows but after several attempts with no reply I have concluded that to be a useless path to tread....

To recap....what I need is a simple bit of advice on where to go to obtain the correct Driver Software for the above device...

Boy oh boy !...I wish I had remained with my lovely Windows XP !!!

stupot52

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
How does the camera connect to the PC?

If you connect the camcorder to the PC/Vista you may be able to see it as a device within 'My Computer' and from there browse to your footage files and download them.

The only problem here is the file extension for your files may be peculiar to Sony's own software and therefore unrecognisable within Windows.

But assuming you can download the files you can probably use Vista's own Windows Movie Maker to edit and render to common digital file formats, or burn straight to DVD.