Domain Workstation to Stand Alone PC Migration


G

Guest

I have a PC running Windows XP Professional that used to be a workstation on
a Domain. It is now used at home as a stand alone PC.

On startup, the PC still goes thru 'Preparing Network Connections' and then
prompts 'Press Ctrl-Alt-Del to logon' .

How can this behavior be changed so the PC boots like any new non-networked
XP PC with a single user defined?

Thanks in advance.
 
Ad

Advertisements

B

Benny Van

I have a PC running Windows XP Professional that used to be a workstation on
a Domain. It is now used at home as a stand alone PC.

On startup, the PC still goes thru 'Preparing Network Connections' and then
prompts 'Press Ctrl-Alt-Del to logon' .

How can this behavior be changed so the PC boots like any new non-networked
XP PC with a single user defined?

Thanks in advance.
right click my computer, choose property, click the computer name
tab,click change, click the radio button with text"Workgroup", click
OK then reboot the computer, now you should no more in the domain. But
before do this, just make sure that you have a local account that will
log you in. Because when you are not in the domain, your domain logon
credential will be useless.
 
L

Lanwench [MVP - Exchange]

scptech said:
I have a PC running Windows XP Professional that used to be a
workstation on a Domain. It is now used at home as a stand alone PC.

On startup, the PC still goes thru 'Preparing Network Connections'
and then prompts 'Press Ctrl-Alt-Del to logon' .

How can this behavior be changed so the PC boots like any new
non-networked XP PC with a single user defined?

Thanks in advance.

Presuming you've already removed the computer from the domain and are
logging in as a local admin, you need to enable the welcome screen/fast user
logon (control panel, user accounts).

But you might do a complete reinstall of this computer to ensure that it has
only the settings you wish. There may be a lot of group policy settings
"tattooed" on this PC that will interfere with your regular home use.
 
G

Guest

Thank you.

Lanwench said:
Presuming you've already removed the computer from the domain and are
logging in as a local admin, you need to enable the welcome screen/fast user
logon (control panel, user accounts).

But you might do a complete reinstall of this computer to ensure that it has
only the settings you wish. There may be a lot of group policy settings
"tattooed" on this PC that will interfere with your regular home use.
 
Ad

Advertisements

G

Guest

Thank you very much for the response.

Benny Van said:
right click my computer, choose property, click the computer name
tab,click change, click the radio button with text"Workgroup", click
OK then reboot the computer, now you should no more in the domain. But
before do this, just make sure that you have a local account that will
log you in. Because when you are not in the domain, your domain logon
credential will be useless.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top