Disk Drive not working?

Reaction score
Hi!
I'm new to PCreview, so forgive me if I don't really know how it works... I'll just start with my problem...

My disk drive hasn't been working for about 4 days now, I've tried re-installing it, and some other things but it still won't work. I'm willing to try anything to get this to work as long as it won't damage my computer-
i'm running Windows Vista,
i've had my computer for about 8 months
i have an Acer Aspire 5100

I've tried about 6 different CD's- games, music, blank cd's, picture cds, etc.

Any ideas? And also could you tell me if acer is a good computer brand? I've had a ton of issues with it and it's driving me crazy...

Thank You!

Reaction score
ACER are a budget brand but produced by ASUS.
There hardware should at the very least - be reliable.

I'm sorry but in order to help you we're going to need more detail, please.
What is the actual problem with the drive?
Based on your comment about CD's - Is this a CD/DVD drive that appears to be dead?
Do you see the device listed under Device Manager?
Have you tried removing and refitting the drive? Be firm. ;)

Reaction score
Well, when I put a cd in the drive it won't register with the computer-- so i can't use CD's or DVD's in my computer. I don't know exactly how to explain it. I just put the cd in, and it won't show up on my computer no matter what I do....

Reaction score
Does the DVD Drive show up in my computer? If not then follow this reg fix (to be safe make a back up of you data)

Step 1: Start Registry Editor

XP

Click Start
Click Run
Type regedit and then click OK
Registry Editor starts

Vista
Click Start
Type in the start search bar - regedit
Look above all programmes click on regedit
Click continue on the Vista security.

Step 2: Delete the UpperFilters registry entry

XP and Vista

In Registry Editor, expand My Computer by clicking the + symbol next to the name
Expand HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
Expand SYSTEM
Expand CurrentControlSet.
Expand Control