D70 - lens nightmare

Reaction score
Hi

I bought a D70 last year and at the time got a 70-300mm lens (Nikon) and a 2x teleconvertor (Jessops' own brand so nothing special).

I've had some OK pictures but I feel the quality isn't as good as it should be and sometimes the light is poorer than I would expect. A few times I feel like I've really missed out on some excellent shots just due to a bit of blur etc.

Anyway, I'm going on holiday to Kenya this year so I really want to make sure I'm using the right kit. I'm still learning to use the camera, granted, but I'm worried I'm using the wrong lens and or convertor.

I debated getting the Sigma 170-500mm or 80-400mm but I'm not sure a) if I can use it with a teleconvertor and, if so, which to use it with (I've heard the Kenko PRO 300s are decent?) and b) if either would offer better results. If I can't use it with a teleconvertor, should I settle with the setup I have for close results?

Ah, decisions decisions.

Budget? Well, I've seen the lenses for £319 (80-400mm) and £399 (170-500mm) and I don't really want to go about £600 for the lens and teleconvertor combined.

Many thanks for any advice you can offer for a very lost and confused newbie!

Donna

Quadophile

Hon. Acoustical Engineer
Reaction score
Hello Donna,

First of all welcome to the PC Review :)

After reading your post what I can gather is that you are using slow lenses and putting a teleconverter in between will make them even slower. That maybe the reason you are getting pictures which could be underexposed as well.

What you need is a fast lens but I am afraid the budget is the hurdle.

Your best bet is to consider a used one to suit your needs, something which has a fixed aperture throughout its focal length. You also need to give up using the teleconverter, unless it is absolutely required you should not consider any other than from Nikon. Teleconverters are generally not recommended for zooms, they are more for fixed focal length lenses.