New Lens - Fao: Quad?

Reaction score
Hullo

I am interested in buying a telephoto zoom lens for my camera, which you probably all know by now (due to me going on and on about it like an obessive kid) is a Nikkon D50.

At the moment i have a "Nikon DX AF-S Nikkor 18-70mm 1:3.5-4.5G ED" which i got with the camera instead of the kit lens which was out of stock. I am really impressed by this lens and understand it retails at around the £200-£250 mark.

I am looking to buy a telephoto lens for shots where i can not get too close to the subject. I would like the image quality to be similar to the current lens - i'm no expert so don't know whether or not my 18-70 is good in the grand scheme of things, but i'm happy with it so something comparable to this would suit me down to the ground.

Price - i was looking at a Tamron 70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di LD Macro 1:2 Nikon Fit lens for £124.99 and really was wondering if this was any good? If not, what are my other options given a similar price bracket - i'm not going to be anal about a budget, if something for a tad more than that is REALLY worth buying then i'll save up my pennies. Nothing stupidly more expensive though :)

http://www.wokinghamphotographic.co.uk/prdtam70300nik.htm

Now as i said - i'm no expert here - so i dont know who are the good guys and who are the bad guys when it comes to lens makes - the only ones i know of are Nikon, Sigma and Tamron...

I just need a lens with as big a zoom as possible with good image quality and a decent price tag :)

Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated :)

Thanks all

Chris

Quadophile

Hon. Acoustical Engineer
Reaction score
Chris,