Can I disable "Empty recycle bin" confirmation?


R

RealCat

Hello.

Not the confirmation for deleting files, I mean EMPTYing the recycle
bin. Those files are which were deleted once already, I don't want
(or need) to click [OK] for everytime emptying the Recycle Bin.
Besides, the Recycle bin is at the left top corner of the screen but
the confirmation dialog always pops up at the center of the screen. If
I accidentally miss the confirmation box, all icons on the desktop
becomes unclickable (looks like a modal window to the desktop)

Is there ANY way to disable the EMPTYing comfirmation? Again, not the
confirmation for deleting files. Thank you.
 
Ad

Advertisements

M

Mick Murphy

When you want to delete anything, just hold down SHIFT as you delete, and it
bypasses the recycle bin.
Gone for good!
 
S

Steve Thackery

Try clicking on bin Properties, theres an option to stop confirmation,
remove tick from box.

No, no, that's the confirmation for deleting files INTO the recycle bin, not
emptying the bin itself.

I don't think there's a way of doing what Victor wants.

SteveT
 
R

RealCat

No, no, that's the confirmation for deleting files INTO the recycle bin, not
emptying the bin itself.

I don't think there's a way of doing what Victor wants.

SteveT

OK. Thank you for your replies.
 
R

Ramesh, MS-MVP

There is a workaround, if you don't mine using third-party tool for emptying
the bin from the context menu.

Will test the tweak in Vista and then post back.

--
Regards,

Ramesh Srinivasan, Microsoft MVP [Windows Shell/User]
The Winhelponline Blog: http://www.winhelponline.com/blog
Windows® Troubleshooting: http://www.winhelponline.com


No, no, that's the confirmation for deleting files INTO the recycle bin,
not
emptying the bin itself.

I don't think there's a way of doing what Victor wants.

SteveT

OK. Thank you for your replies.
 
L

Lou

I do not know of a way to eliminate the dialog message.

You could configure your mouse to automatically move to the default location
in a diagoue box. When you select empty recycle bin, the mouse pointer will
be positioned on "yes." This option is located in pointer options when you
personalized your desktop.

Lou
 
Ad

Advertisements

C

Charles W Davis

Steve Thackery said:
No, no, that's the confirmation for deleting files INTO the recycle bin,
not emptying the bin itself.

I don't think there's a way of doing what Victor wants.

SteveT
There is one radio button that can be checked that reads: "Do not move viles
to the Recycle Bin. Remove files immediately when deleted." I assume that
this is equivalent to holding the shift key while deleting.

There is check box that reads: "Diplay delete confirmation dialog" I assume
that this means "deleted" items have been placed in the Recycle Bin and when
you click on Empty the Recylec Bin, it would be emptied without further
prompts.
 
Ad

Advertisements

R

Ramesh, MS-MVP

Disable Empty Recycle Bin Confirmation in Windows XP and Vista - The
Winhelponline Blog:
http://www.winhelponline.com/blog/disable-empty-recycle-bin-confirmation-in-windows-xp-and-vista/

--
Regards,

Ramesh Srinivasan, Microsoft MVP [Windows Shell/User]
The Winhelponline Blog: http://www.winhelponline.com/blog
Windows® Troubleshooting: http://www.winhelponline.com


Ramesh said:
There is a workaround, if you don't mine using third-party tool for
emptying the bin from the context menu.

Will test the tweak in Vista and then post back.

--
Regards,

Ramesh Srinivasan, Microsoft MVP [Windows Shell/User]
The Winhelponline Blog: http://www.winhelponline.com/blog
Windows® Troubleshooting: http://www.winhelponline.com


No, no, that's the confirmation for deleting files INTO the recycle bin,
not
emptying the bin itself.

I don't think there's a way of doing what Victor wants.

SteveT

OK. Thank you for your replies.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top