6 Months Free Kaspersky Internet Security

Discussion in 'Security, Spyware and Viruses' started by Ian, Aug 2, 2007.

  1. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Likes Received:
    914
    http://www.kaspersky-labs.co.uk/safeonline/

    Quite a few of us on PCR really like KIS 7.0, which includes a very good AntiVirus and Firewall.

    The link at the top there should let you download a 6 month free trial of it, which is a bit of a bargain :D
     
    Ian, Aug 2, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Ian

    muckshifter I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition. Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    962
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    Well worth a try out ... you won't be disappointed. :thumb:

    :user:
     
    muckshifter, Aug 2, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Ian

    Anon_F

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Likes Received:
    283
    I'm currently using NOD32 with ZoneAlarm Firewall.
    Is this a better than them then?
     
    Anon_F, Aug 2, 2007
    #3
  4. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Likes Received:
    914
    NOD32 is very good, so probably not on the antivirus front - it's just an integrated package. If you have paid for the NOD32 subscription I'd stick with that :) If it's a trial, then give KIS 7.0 a go afterwards and see which you prefer.
     
    Ian, Aug 2, 2007
    #4
  5. Ian

    Anon_F

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Likes Received:
    283
    To be honest i have not found NOD32 to be that user friendly.
    May be i was used to Norton for so long.:blush:
    Will give Kaspersky a try though, after all it is only 6 months.:thumb:
     
    Anon_F, Aug 2, 2007
    #5
  6. Ian

    floppybootstomp sugar 'n spikes Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Location:
    Greenwich
    I've just finished a 30 day trial of Kaspersky all-in-one.

    Now, I don't wanna rain on anybody's parade but the truth is - it slowed my system down.

    I only realised this after I uninstalled it and suddenly my computer was a whole lot perkier (it was on the first system in my sig).

    And sometimes I had to turn it off to get some downloads, I did find it a little intrusive,

    And it didn't stop all the spam getting through.

    And the fact it cost around £40.00 a year was another deciding factor when I decided not to buy it.

    I really really wanted to like Kaspersky, I was going to buy it, but I cannot ignore what I've outlined above.

    I'm probably a lone voice, but there ya go...

    So, now back to Mailwasher Pro; Antivir; AdAwareSE; Spybot Search & Destroy; Windows XP firewall with Netgear hardware firewall and I'll probably try Windows Defender as well.
     
    floppybootstomp, Aug 2, 2007
    #6
  7. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Likes Received:
    914
    My system dragged until I enabled fast network access and another setting I can't remember, the post with the info is in this forum somewhere though :)

    Anything involving a network or internet connection really bogged down my PC until I changed the setting, I'd highly recommend changing it - as it made a huge difference for me :thumb:

    edit: Found it https://www.pcreview.co.uk/forums/thread-3129318.php
     
    Ian, Aug 2, 2007
    #7
  8. Ian

    floppybootstomp sugar 'n spikes Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Location:
    Greenwich
    Aha. Maybe that was my problem.

    Oh well, I'm still 40 quid better off :D
     
    floppybootstomp, Aug 2, 2007
    #8
  9. Ian

    muckshifter I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition. Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    962
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    Naw, you can get it for under £16 :thumb:

    As with most of these all-in-one security solutions there is a trade off, some are better, like Kaspersky, at doing their job with the least amount of overhead.

    Then there is the old adage, get to know your software. ;)

    Kaspersky will not be to everyones' taste ... I like it, it works exceptionally well with Vista. :thumb:


    :user:
     
    muckshifter, Aug 3, 2007
    #9
  10. Ian

    chelseafc2005 Crunchtastic

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    london
    I got kapersky internet security 6 retail version for £15 from amazon and that was a three user license for all the computers in this house, very god price i think :D


    At the begining it did slow down the system but once i had tweaked a few settings it is all fine and now i upgraded free to KIS 7

    well worth a try :thumb:
     
    chelseafc2005, Aug 3, 2007
    #10
  11. Ian

    sol

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    own planet
    kis is cool

    :D well all i can say is yippee,i downloaded the free trial version & instead of my cpu kicking in when i know its not supposed to,its all stopped,poota real quiet & its actually working a lot faster than before [​IMG] so ime definately sticking with this & will definately buy it once the trial ends,just not sure whether its supposed to quarantine sas or not-which it has done & ive left it that till i know if its right or wrong :confused: apart from that ive found it easy to use,very fast & i can understand it which as you all know ime a total technophobe so that means quite a lot [​IMG] so thanks for this ime more than happy [​IMG]
     
    sol, Aug 6, 2007
    #11
  12. Ian

    exmoor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Somerset
    Cheers Ian

    I'm now using the 180 trial version. And it's free!:D
     
    exmoor, Aug 6, 2007
    #12
  13. Ian

    Adywebb Growing old.... Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Shropshire
    I've had the email from Kaspersky and downloaded it using the link provided, but the email didn't have the activation code, it just said 'Your activation code will be supplied to you in a separate email from 1st of August 2007' but I've not received it yet - is this the same for everyone?
     
    Adywebb, Aug 6, 2007
    #13
  14. Ian

    sol

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    own planet
    :confused:
    i clicked on the link then downloaded it from the email-then theres a box once it starts running that says start trial version & then it activates.not sure about downloading it from the link though-not much help am i :(
     
    sol, Aug 6, 2007
    #14
  15. Ian

    Adywebb Growing old.... Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Yes you are my friend - looks like I don't have to have an activation code sent, it activates during the set-up :thumb:
     
    Adywebb, Aug 6, 2007
    #15
  16. Ian

    sol

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    own planet
    :D glad you got it sorted,thats the first time ive ever actually replied to a question as normally ime the one asking for help :lol: guess that reading through the archives has finally got my brain cells running again :nod:
     
    sol, Aug 6, 2007
    #16
  17. Ian

    Adywebb Growing old.... Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Well actually I haven't tried to install it yet - I was just guessing from your reply that thats the way it will activate :D
     
    Adywebb, Aug 6, 2007
    #17
  18. Ian

    sol

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    own planet

    :nod: well thats the way i activated mine after i waited for an activation code email :lol: yes i sat there waiting for an email then thought oh ok maybe i should just run it & see & hey presto it started.
    just still not sure why its put sas into quarantine,ime guessing its because it sees it as a threat so will wait see if anyone has any advice.
    good luck with it as mines working great
     
    sol, Aug 6, 2007
    #18
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.