Windows XP XP SP3 now available to download


Adywebb

Growing old....
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2005
Messages
5,450
Reaction score
11
Available now via MS Update - 'Typical download size: 66.9 MB, 31 minutes'
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Feb 23, 2002
Messages
19,097
Reaction score
1,056
Cheers Ady :) Time to update my laptop :nod:
 

Adywebb

Growing old....
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2005
Messages
5,450
Reaction score
11
If anyone wants the SP3 ISO file for slipstreaming with XP SP2 for future clean installs, then its available HERE :thumb:
 

Me__2001

Internet Junkie
Joined
Apr 5, 2004
Messages
4,354
Reaction score
1
Adywebb said:
If anyone wants the SP3 ISO file for slipstreaming with XP SP2 for future clean installs, then its available HERE :thumb:
nice one ady :thumb: this will be very useful

had this installed from the beta release and it seems to be good, havent got any updates to download at the moment though
 

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
10,496
Reaction score
952
I had the beta release for a few months and had no problems . That iso you directed us to is 544 MB . Why is it nearly ten times bigger than the update ?? I'm puzzled .

 

Adywebb

Growing old....
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2005
Messages
5,450
Reaction score
11
Abarbarian said:
I had the beta release for a few months and had no problems . That iso you directed us to is 544 MB . Why is it nearly ten times bigger than the update ?? I'm puzzled .

The one available via MS Update is smaller and says 'Typical download size 66.9 MB' I guess is because it has scanned your PC first and knows exactly what updates your PC actually needs and only downloads those updates that are required....whereas the ISO has the whole lot :thumb:
 
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
2,534
Reaction score
0
Ady,

How do you go about slipstreaming SP3 into XP home what program do I use? does this go over SP2?


Can you please let me konw.

Thanks,

Wiz
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
12,268
Reaction score
283
Have a friend who downloaded & ran it, since then their pc has played up.
Any gremlins in this service pack??
 

Adywebb

Growing old....
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2005
Messages
5,450
Reaction score
11
Most reports I have seen have been fine - where folks often have problems is if their original install is slightly corrupted in some way and the SP exacerbates it, or if they get a bad download.


wizkid said:
Ady,

How do you go about slipstreaming SP3 into XP home what program do I use? does this go over SP2?


Can you please let me konw.

Thanks,

Wiz
Yep will be fine over SP2 - use Autostreamer and this guide :thumb:
 

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
20,155
Reaction score
1,661
I'm a little confused here.

Is that 544Mb SP3 ISO file from MS the actual file to burn the XP CD from?

And the resulting CD will be XP Pro with all service packs including SP3?

Reason being I'm using autostreamer and inserting my XP Pro CD w/SP2 in the drive but when I browse to add SP3 it wants an .exe file rather than an ISO file.

And thinking about it, there's not enough room for that ISO file at 544Mb and the original XP CD on one CD is there?

So, is that ISO file the complete deal?

Or do I make a CD from that ISO file then browse to the .exe file on that CD using autostreamer?

Never had this problem when I slipstreamed SP2 all that time ago ;)
 

Adywebb

Growing old....
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2005
Messages
5,450
Reaction score
11
Flops - I downloaded the ISO archive file, unzipped it to a folder, then used Autostreamer, inserted my XP SP2 CD and then pointed to the 'WindowsXP - KBxxxxxxxxx-SP3-X86-ENU' file contained within the unzipped SP3 folder......it worked fine and all fits on a CD :thumb:
 

Me__2001

Internet Junkie
Joined
Apr 5, 2004
Messages
4,354
Reaction score
1
you should be able to extract the iso file using winrar then do as ady says, never done it myself but may give it a go
 

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
20,155
Reaction score
1,661
All done now.

I didn't realise I had to unzip the ISO file.

I used a freebie program named Quickzip V4.0 which works quite ok.
 

crazylegs

Member Extraordinaire
Joined
Dec 31, 2004
Messages
5,697
Reaction score
37
Winrar has been around since the stoneage..Surely you people have heard of it..
 

Me__2001

Internet Junkie
Joined
Apr 5, 2004
Messages
4,354
Reaction score
1
have a slipstreamed version burnt and sitting in the CD rack now :D, that prgram makes things sooo much easier
 

Adywebb

Growing old....
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2005
Messages
5,450
Reaction score
11
crazylegs said:
Winrar has been around since the stoneage..Surely you people have heard of it..
Yep it has and I've got it...but I tend to use the freebie 7-Zip these days
 

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
20,155
Reaction score
1,661
Aye, both 7-Zip and QuickZip are multi zip format, including RAR files.
 
Ad

Advertisements

crazylegs

Member Extraordinaire
Joined
Dec 31, 2004
Messages
5,697
Reaction score
37
No worries guys..

Yes I'm just downloading that iso so I can slipstream me a windows with XP3 aswell..
I take it no ones had any probs with slipstreaming a copy of sp3 with Xp sp2 previously slipstreamed onto a disc, as thats what I will be using..
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads

Windows Vista OpenOffice 2.4 is now available 5
Windows XP Window XP SP3 5
Windows XP XP SP3 Question 2
Windows XP sp3 for windows xp 0
Windows 10 Windows 10 Creators Update - Now Available 15
Windows XP nlite + XP SP3 challenge !!!!!! 11
Windows XP Develop CSP in XP SP3 0
Windows 10 Arch Linux for WSL is now Available in the Microsoft Store 0

Top