Windows/XP Automatically Reboots with SBC/DSL

G

I'm new to Windows/XP and a DSL broadband service with SBC. I use a NetGear router between my PC and the SBC supplied modem (SpeedStream 5100B) using PPPoE. The router is used to support a wireless connection for sharing of the DSL line with another PC

Since I have installed the service and have been using the broadband connection, my PC sporadically reboots itself and prompts me to send a crash analysis report to Microsoft. I've sent many of these reports and the technical response from Microsoft is ..
"The error was likely caused by an interaction between Windows and the following: Visual IP InSight (IPVNMon.sys). Visual IP InSight (IPVNMon.sys) was created by Visual Networks. It is typically distributed by internet service providers. To find out if a solution or a fix is available, contact your internet service provider"

I've not had much success with the SBC/DSL support structure. We have gone through a series of profile redefinitions, with not much success. Has anyone experienced this symptom? With Windows/XP, Netgear Router, and a SBC/DSL modem in the components chain, I'm really not sure where to begin

Any guideance or technical input would be greatly appreciated ...

G

I've not resolved this yet, due to time constrainsts, but I will be discussing this with the SBC technical folks today. I've removed my router from the configuration, thinking it might be related with the router, but the same thing happens with the original configuration from SBC right out of the box.

It has to do when you install their entire package software. The whole Yahoo DSL browser, email, thing. I've talked to folks who have not installeda the entire package software and they are having no problems. They use IE and Microsoft Outlook for browser and email applications.

I'll get an answer ...

----- laguna_smb wrote: ----

I have the same problem! Did you figure it out yet? I am getting hopeless here...

G