What are your Internet speeds


Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
5,758
Reaction score
552
Just completed a Internet speed test
1470951049879955255.png
and wondered what other members results were Like. I live out in the country and our Internet Provider is a service that is subed by Kent County Council and is a by sight wireless signal and is still faster than the BT fibre as the cabling from the box to the user is a mixture of copper and aluminum and the latter has high loss so many here have only 10mbps.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
5,758
Reaction score
552
When I lived in Maidstone I had my bungalow on site of a Kent County Council IT center supplied by Virgin and the download speck was was good in those days at something like 46 Mb/s and I thought that was good and that was 6 years ago
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
5,758
Reaction score
552
Blimey that is good your download is faster than my and Evan's download speed put together:eek::eek::eek:
 
Last edited:

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,641
Reaction score
1,148
... the postman calls once a week with my internet. :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
20,242
Reaction score
1,744


Not that good but I'm told it's my local BT Exchange with it's antiquated equipment that throttles my service. I pay for a faster service but BT manage to put the kibosh on it.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Feb 23, 2002
Messages
19,687
Reaction score
1,365
Mediocre internet here, as we're quite far from the cabinet. Still, it does me ok :).

5554853813.png
 

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
10,871
Reaction score
1,145
5586832216.png


Darn it mine has got slower. You'll notice that my internet speed is 92% slower than the rest of the UK. Great result for a citizen of one of the richest countries in the world. :cool:
 
Ad

Advertisements

V_R

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Moderator
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
13,511
Reaction score
1,829
Doesn't VF use the Openreach network? If so then you shouldn't be limited to just them. :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
10,871
Reaction score
1,145
Doesn't VF use the Openreach network? If so then you shouldn't be limited to just them. :)

Not really up on what is what but there is Superfast/Fibre in the street. Still deciding if I need just broadband or broadband plus tv. Probably will go for fastest broadband as I can get anything I want to watch from the net.
Still looking for deals and they may change before I am ready to sign up. I may be able to get Talk Talk to give me a great deal as I am at the end of my present contract.

Lets face it any speed I can get will be fantastic compared to my present crawl :dance:
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top