Remote Access through ActionTec DSL Modem/Router

G

Please excuse some of my ignorance here, I'm brand new to the Win XP world.

I have a customer that I will be upgrading from Win98 to WinXP. He has frequently asked about getting remote access to his business and I realized that this should be possible if we install Win XP Pro on one of his systems at work and install the client on his system at home. He has DSL installed on both systems (via Qwest DSL) using ActionTec modems on both ends (possibly wireless at his home).

I think this would be relatively easy if his work computer was directly connected to the DSL. But the DSL connects to the DSL modem/router with a dynamic IP address and then his computer gets a dynamic IP from the router probably in the 10.0.0.x range or maybe 192.168.123.xxx range.

Is it possible with all of the dynamic IP addresses to remotely access the work computer from his home?

The dynamic IP address assigned to the DSL modem has stayed the same for as long as the DSL modem has been turned on (and even when the power had to be cycled a couple of times). Since there are three systems connected to the router and ony one of the will be running Win XP Pro, how do I specify the system to connect to from his home?

Is there a FAQ available somewhere on how to set this up and get through the router? What about the firewall on the router and on Win XP?

Thanks for any assistance.
david.

S

Sooner Al

You would need to forward/open TCP Port 3389 in the router to the private LAN IP of the PC. Call
using the public IP of the router. Port forwarding works best if the PC had a static IP simply
because the IP could change and that would negate your port forwarding scheme. Is there any reason
why you can't configure a static IP on the PC? Although if the IP has not changed you could go ahead
and try it...just be aware it could fail at some point...

If you need to access multiple PCs behind a firewall/NAT/router look at this page that illustrates