Recommend a good budget digtal camera.

Cache-man

Wannabe Webmaster
Reaction score
I'm in the market for a digital camera, I don't want to spend any more than about £60 (I'm a poor student on a tight budget), and I want to be able to take good close up, and general photos with it for transfering to the pc and onto the web.

Can anyone recommend a good model for my budget, and/or a good place to look for one.

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
You gonna be a bit pushed for sixty quid, to be honest, but I expect there's something that meets your needs.

I always recommend Canon or Nikon for Digital Cameras. I expect Pentax are good too, but I have no experience of their digital models myself.

For that price, probably going to be 2 or 3 mp.

Have a look on Steve's Digicams to note a few models, then search for a price on Amazon (recommended) or Google.

Cache-man

Wannabe Webmaster
Reaction score
Cheers flops, i'll look there.
I know it's not really a lot to be spending on a camera, but i do not use cameras all that often atm, so i can't justify the expense.
Maybe when i start using a digi cam I may get into it a bit more, but untill then a cheapo one will have to suffice. ;)

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
I've bought good cameras for about £100 about a year ago, so you may be able to pick up a 2nd hand bargain from e-bay for a good 3MP digital camera.

I'd recommend getting a 2nd hand or refurbished camera from a better make than a generic digital camera from a no-frills company.

Cache-man

Wannabe Webmaster
Reaction score
2nd hand you say, thats a great idea....why didn't i think of that.
Cheers Ian ;)

Cache-man

Wannabe Webmaster
Reaction score
OK folks. I went into DIXONS today for some advice on buying my new digital camera and ended up buying one from them. It's an Olympyus muju u410 with the following specs:
:) Weatherproof metal body
:) 4 Mega pixels
:) 3x Optical zoom
:) 8 scene programs
:) Movie function with sound
:) 32MB XD Card