PrevAdKeep and PrevAdServ Popup Virus-please help!

Reaction score
hello! i am having a problem with popups on my computer. the popup headings read either PrevAdKeep.exe or PrevAdServ.exe. when you try to close the popup/error window that appears, it will re-open again immediately. i have tried closing the program by doing the following: first, i go into Windows Task Manager, and then into Processes. then, when i try to close PrevAdServ or PrevAdKeep, it will close temporarily, but it will reopen mulitple times afterwards.

i believe that this is a virus. it seems to beslowing my computer down and making it harder to open programs and/or load things. if anyone has any information on downloads that will stop this virus, please reply or e-mail me at (email address removed for your protection, mucks). please and thank you for any help!!! :D

gabriella

Sunflower Queen
Reaction score
Hi KG Girl

OK, I am far from an expert here and doutless others will come along later with some other words of advice but from what you say you have a virus on your computer. I did some checking with Google and this nasty has been around since March 2005.

First questions - what antivirus, antispyware programmes do you have on your PC. Have you run them, what do they bring up?

I suggest we take this one step at a time. I am confident that between us we can have you sorted but we need to know what protection you have on the PC first. What OS are you using???

Also, please forgive this suggestion but I would edit out your email address from your post as you don't want to be flodded with nonsense on your email account.

Us guys/gals here will keep our eye on your thread, have no fear!!

Gabs x

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
They are both part of the "nastie" WindUpdates ... download ALL the Anti-Spyware progs' in my sig', update and run 'em all one after the other.

You may find we have to resort to drastic measures. :(

Reaction score