PC Advice Please

Reaction score
Hi

I need some advice from you experts please.

I am looking to buy a decent good quality desk top computer, but my knowledge is not that good and I would greatly value any advice you can give me.

At the moment it is a toss up between PC World, Dell or Mesh. Alternatively, get my local shop to self build. I currently have a good budget (£700 - £900).

I will be using the PC mainly for home use (I am an amateur genealogist and photographer) with the occasional gaming use. Clock Speed, Memory, Graphics and a good, high quality, monitor are important for the work I do.

My specifications are as follows -
  • ATHLON (2GHz or faster); CPU with DSI
  • 2Gb RAM (or higher).
  • 300Gb+ HD
  • High Resolution flat screen monitor.
  • Video Card; 256MB or higher. Directx9.0 (or higher) Compatible. TV/DVD/CD Compatible etc.
  • Graphics Card; 256MB or higher 3D Acceleration. T&L Capability (Hardware Transform & Lighting). VS/PS Capability (Shader).
  • High speed data/fax/voice modem. 54Kps or higher
  • 6 or more USB Ports
  • Interior flash card reader (for my cameras)
  • 18x CD/DVD Writer +R/-R/RW/RAM
  • 2nd CD/DVD Drive +R/-R
  • Network Card for future connection to broadband
  • Good Quality Sound Card (being partially deaf, I do not need anything fancy)
  • 2x Stereo Speakers
I would welcome any advice, or recommendations, on complete systems or individual components please.

Last edited:
Reaction score
I suggest you do not buy from the third company you mention.
They offer bad service & support and much is written about them on this forum & others!

Reaction score
Mesh

Yes I have heard very conflicting reports about this company. I have to say that my dealings with them so far have not been very good.

V_R

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Reaction score
A few members here have got pcs from Cyberppower system, you could also check out 3B systems.