Laptop Advice please

Reaction score
At last!!! I can now afford a decent Laptop - thanks to me selling my house :D

Can anyone recommend any 17" laptop please, that has done well in the reviews?

I am an amateur genealogist and photographer - I use programmes that take up a lot of resources and I often use several programmes at the same time - Multitasking is important.
A lot of work is done on line via these programmes - Family Tree Maker especially.

I would like to be-able to play Cd's DVD's and Blu Ray disks on it. Read Write is important as is having a card reader and lots of USB ports. Good Graphics Card is also important as I enjoy playing on-line games occasionally i.e. Runescape & The Settlers On-line.

My Budget is £1.5K but I would like to keep costs to a minimum.

I am giving my PC, shown below, to my nephew. The Laptop will be it's replacement, so I am looking for something to replace and better than what I had.

What is the difference between i5 and i7 processors please - re: my request for info on laptops?

I am getting a lap top to replace my PC listed below.

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
I merged your two posts to save confusion. :)

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
Toshiba are, to me, a very good brand name, you can do worse.

I have never used a laptop, however, the specifications of this one are excellent. I personally wouldn't expect it to play ANY high res games fluidly. It should have no problems with the rest of your criteria.

Laptops and games, sorry, to me they just don't mix it. The big "problem" is the graphics "card", Laptops traditionally use, as this one does, integrated graphic which tend to rely sharing resources, such as ram, to cut down on space, power consumption & heat. A good gaming graphics card gives off a bloody lot of heat and needs stupid cooling.

do a search via Mr Google on the game playing capabilities.

:user:

EvanDavis

Silly Fool
Reaction score