Outlook 2010 No Longer Deletes Mail From Server

  • Thread starter Rev. Michael L. Burns
  • Start date

R

Rev. Michael L. Burns

Until today, Outlook 2010 was working great but this afternoon I recieved
a message from my email provider saying that may inbox on the server was
full. I checked and all the mail I had recieved for the last three days was
still on the server. I delete all the mail on the server but after reciever
a dozen or so more emails I decided to check the server again and found that
once again the emails had not been deleted. Is there a setting in Outlook
2010 that mail have changed that needs to be reset to tell it to delete the
files from the server when the download is complete?

Thanks,
Michae
 
Ad

Advertisements

V

VanguardLH

Rev. Michael L. Burns said:
Until today, Outlook 2010 was working great but this afternoon I recieved
a message from my email provider saying that may inbox on the server was
full. I checked and all the mail I had recieved for the last three days was
still on the server. I delete all the mail on the server but after reciever
a dozen or so more emails I decided to check the server again and found that
once again the emails had not been deleted. Is there a setting in Outlook
2010 that mail have changed that needs to be reset to tell it to delete the
files from the server when the download is complete?

Thanks,
Michae;

This newsgroup discusses the released versions.

Microsoft Office 2010 forums are at:
http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en/category/office2010
 
B

Brian Tillman [MVP-Outlook]

Until today, Outlook 2010 was working great but this afternoon I recieved a
message from my email provider saying that may inbox on the server was full.
I checked and all the mail I had recieved for the last three days was still
on the server. I delete all the mail on the server but after reciever a
dozen or so more emails I decided to check the server again and found that
once again the emails had not been deleted. Is there a setting in Outlook
2010 that mail have changed that needs to be reset to tell it to delete the
files from the server when the download is complete?

Yes. On the Backstage (the orange File tab), there is an Account Settings
button. Click it, select your account, then click Change. Click More
Settings and select the Advanced tab and uncheck the box labeled "Leave a copy
of messages on trhe server"
 
R

Rev. Michael L. Burns

Hello Brian Tillman [MVP-Outlook],

Thanks a million. That took care of my problem.

Michael
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top