MS Access (School database design)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Hi, I greet you all and thank you for all the help you have been giving people like us.
My name is Stanley, and i am just a beginner in access trying to upgrade my skills. I have a project i want to bring up, but i don't know how to start it up. Please read carefully and try to help me out.

I am in Cameroon and i need to design a school database for a Secondary School with about 2000 students. This database should have features as follows:
* Keep a student profile and their guardian,
* Keep record of each school fee transaction,
* Records the test marks of students and at the end produce an automatic report card sheet,
* Generate class council report sheets, master sheets, at the end of each academic year,
* Generate each students transcripts when demanded,
* Automatically promote students to next class, if the average is >=10
* Keep track of school teachers (employee),

The FIRST problem i face is organizing or structuring the tables. Each class in the school has sub classes E.g Form 1 has A, B, and C, likewise Form 2 = 2A, 2B, 2C; From 3 - 5 the same. Each class has about 11 subjects maximum, but not all students take all the subjects especially at higher classes as Form 4 and Form 5. I also want to take note of academic sessions. I want it to automatically promote a student at the end of each academic session to the next session and in a new class. E.g. A child just newly admitted into Form 1A, this session 2011/2012 should be automatically moved to say Form 2B in September 2012 when the academic session 2012/2013 starts.

Please, if anyone knows how to structure this database, let the person help me. Thank you very much. I really need to upgrade my little skills in database design.

Reaction score
I just wrote a rather long reply, and posted it for you, somehow it was lost in the posting, very upsetting on my part.