Monitor problem

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new here but i really need some help with a problem I'm having.

I've just built my first new computer from scratch (Well, it was a barebones System that I built up) and I thought I had it all sorted but the monitor isn't picking up any VGA input from the Computer. I've checked the cables, switched them round and everything but nothing has worked so far! I even took my otehr monitor from my home PC to see if that worked but that picks up nothing either, which suggests that it is something on teh computer end that is wrong. The problem is I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to this, so I don't have a clue where to start looking for the problem so any help would be greatly appreciated.

The system is:
Intel E6420 Core2Duo Heatsink and Fan
2048mb DDR2 667 Ram
Intel 965X PCI Express Motherboard
Novatech GeForce 8600GT SLI 256MB GDDR3 Dual DVI/TVO PCI-E
LITEON 20x DVDRW / RAM Black Bare
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB SATA II 7200rpm 16Mb Cache 11ms 300Mb/s
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio card with X-Fi Crystalizer / PCI 24bit / 96kHz
HP w1907v 19’’ Wide Flat Panel Monitor

This PC is completely bare at the minute in terms of software, as I can't see anything on the screen to even install Vista!

Thanks in advance!

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
Do you have any other graphics card you could use to test to see if that is the problem? Also, are there any beeps at all when you boot up?

Also, did you plug in the internal power connector when installing the 8600 (if it needs one, I know the 8800 does).

Reaction score
No, not any that are easily accessible anyway. I can hear all the beeps and the fan on the card is turning so I know that it is getting power. As far as I can see it doesn't require an internal power connector.

Any other ideas?

Me__2001

Internet Junkie
Reaction score
yeah, what are you conneting your monitor to ? the graphics card or the internal graphics ?

Reaction score