Would you recommend this pc?


Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
92
Reaction score
0
I was going to buy this pc:

http://www.pcpro.co.uk/reviews/164694/pc-specialist-apollo-q6600gt.html

However, my mate looked at it and said its crap simply because its Intel, lol.

He said he would build me a better one and at a slightly cheaper price.

Im not a gamer, but told him that i wanted it to be super quick as i multi task a lot, browsing, downloading, working on other apps etc:

Processor​

AMD ATHLON 64 X2 6400+ (3.2GHz) 2 x 1MB L2 Cache (Socket AM2)

RAM​

4GB CORSAIR XMS2 800MHz​

Hard Drive​

2 x 500GB SERIAL ATA II + 16mb cache​

Motherboard​

ASUS M3A: AM2+, DUAL DDR II, S-ATA II, 3 PCI, 2 PCI-E​

Graphics​

512MB GEFORCE (9) 9600GT PCI Express + DVI + TV-OUT​

Soundcard​

Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio 7.1

Monitor

17 Inch TFT 1440 x 900 8MS​

DVD​

20x Dual Layer LightScribe DVD Writer RW/RAM

Speakers​

CREATIVE INSPIRE 5.1 T6100 SPEAKER SYSTEM​

Input​

Logitech Deluxe 660 Cordless Keyboard & Optical Mouse

Tv - Card​

DUAL TUNER DIGITAL TV CARD - Watch/Record Freeview​

Operating System​
64 BIT WINDOWS VISTA HOME PREM SP1


500W standard PSU unit

Warranty​
1 YEAR​

Cost​

£1100​
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Alf

Yank Upstart
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
3,193
Reaction score
6
Frankly either build is fine.
The Intel machince has more power to it because of the 8800GT and Q6600.
I also noticed that neither machines list a PSU :D

Personally im wary of Vista, im sure some members can elaborate on thier experiences
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
6,175
Reaction score
2
It is not Intel its AMD So your mate dont know a lot about PCs
bowdown.gif
But it is rather expensive compared to BYO.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
6,175
Reaction score
2
This is the MOBO>
GeneralProduct TypeMotherboardForm FactorATXWidth30.5 cmDepth21.8 cmCompatible ProcessorsAthlon 64, Sempron, Athlon 64 FX, Athlon 64 X2, Athlon X2, Phenom X4, Phenom FX, Phenom X264-bit Processors CompatibilityBuilt-inProcessor SocketSocket AM2+Multi-Core SupportDual-Core / Quad-coreChipset TypeAMD 770 / ATI SB600Max Bus Speed2600 MHzStorage ControllerATA-133, Serial ATA-300 (RAID), eSATA portPower Connectors4-pin ATX12V connector, 24-pin main power connectorProcessorInstalled Qty (Max Supported)0 ( 1 )MemorySupported RAM TechnologyDDR II SDRAMSupported RAM Integrity CheckNon-ECC, ECCRAM Installed ( Max )0 MB / 8 GB (max)Supported RAM SpeedPC2-4300, PC2-6400, PC2-5300, PC2-8500RAM FeaturesUnbuffered, two DDR channelsAudioAudio OutputSound cardAudio CodecRealtek ALC883Sound Output Mode7.1 channel surroundCompliant StandardsHigh Definition AudioTelecom / NetworkingNetworkingNetwork adapter - Ethernet, Fast Ethernet, Gigabit EthernetFeaturesBIOS FeaturesDMI 2.0 support, WfM 2.0 support, ASUS MyLogo2, SMBIOS 2.3 support, ASUS EZ Flash 2, ACPI 2.0a supportHardware FeaturesChassis intrusion detection, C.P.R. (CPU Parameter Recall), AMD Cool 'n' Quiet Technology, ASUS AI Nap, CrashFree BIOS 3, ASUS Q-Connector, ASUS AI Gear 2, ASUS AI NET2, ASUS Noise Filter, ASUS Stepless Frequency Selection (SFS), ASUS Q-ShieldExpansion / ConnectivityExpansion Slot(s)1 processor - Socket AM2+ ¦ 4 memory - DIMM 240-pin ¦ 1 PCI Express 2.0 x16 ¦ 2 PCI Express x1 ¦ 3 PCIStorage InterfacesATI SB600 : Serial ATA-300 - connector(s): 4 x 7pin Serial ATA - 4 Device(s) - RAID 0 / RAID 1 / RAID 0+1 ¦ ATI SB600 : ATA-133 - connector(s): 1 x 40pin IDC - 2 Device(s)Interfaces1 x audio - line-In - 4 PIN MPC ¦ 1 x storage - floppy interface - 34 PIN IDC ¦ 1 x keyboard - generic - 6 pin mini-DIN (PS/2 style) ¦ 1 x mouse - generic - 6 pin mini-DIN (PS/2 style) ¦ 1 x serial - RS-232 - 9 pin D-Sub (DB-9) ¦ 1 x audio - SPDIF output - RCA ¦ 1 x network - Ethernet 10Base-T/100Base-TX/1000Base-T - RJ-45 ¦ 4 x Hi-Speed USB - 4 PIN USB Type A ¦ AudioAdditional Connectors (Optional)6 x Hi-Speed USBMiscellaneousSoftware IncludedDrivers & UtilitiesCompliant StandardsPlug and Play, RoHS
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
92
Reaction score
0
Alf said:
Frankly either build is fine.
The Intel machince has more power to it because of the 8800GT and Q6600.
I also noticed that neither machines list a PSU :D

Personally im wary of Vista, im sure some members can elaborate on thier experiences

500W standard PSU unit for the one my mate has built..he said thats just right for my system

Also, he said that 9600GT is better than the 8800GT?

Q6600 offers 2.4ghs compared to 3.2GHz so surely its more powerful


 
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
92
Reaction score
0
itsme said:
It is not Intel its AMD So your mate dont know a lot about PCs
bowdown.gif
But it is rather expensive compared to BYO.

what you talking about mate, the linked one is Intel. My mates is AMD
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
6,175
Reaction score
2
BourneSupreme said:
what you talking about mate, the linked one is Intel. My mates is AMD

Oh! so you put the link to confuse me did you:) , and then the one your mate says to BYO;) well your mate`s PC looks a better spec than the linked one.:nod: You did not say about your mates build :D Yep I know what I am talking about:user:

This one is on the PC Linked Intel



And This one is what is on your thread AMD
 

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
20,264
Reaction score
1,765
Your mate's talking crap :)

Intel at this moment in time, generally speaking, are better than their AMD equivalents.

8800GT:

Core: 625Mhz
Memory: 900Mhz. 512Mb
Pipes: 16
112 Stream Processors
Shader Model 4
£135 inc postage

9600GT:

Core: 650Mhz
Memory:900Mhz. 512Mb
Pipes: 16
64 Stream processors
Shader model 4
£125.00 inc postage

The 9600GT is £10.00 cheaper. Note the number of stream processors, they're important.

Be wary of your friend :)
 

Adywebb

Growing old....
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2005
Messages
5,459
Reaction score
21
BourneSupreme said:
500W standard PSU unit for the one my mate has built..he said thats just right for my system

True - just make sure its a good quality unit ;)

Also, he said that 9600GT is better than the 8800GT?
Hmmmm, in terms of pure performance the 8800GT is better - but the 9600GT is cheaper.

Q6600 offers 2.4ghs compared to 3.2GHz so surely its more powerful
Firstly the Q6600 is a quad and the AMD is a dual-core.

Next, you can't just do a comparison by the headline GHz rating, particularly between Intel and AMD chips - its like comparing apples and oranges.

For multitasking the Q6600 will be far better - and it overclocks really well too, however it is more expensive - if you want dual-core then the Intel dual-cores are generally better performance wise too.
 

Alf

Yank Upstart
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
3,193
Reaction score
6
floppybootstomp said:
Your mate's talking crap :)
...Be wary of your friend
Was thinking the same thing to me self
laughingsmiley.gif


floppybootstomp said:
Intel at this moment in time, generally speaking, are better than their AMD equivalents.

A unfoutunate truth, But that hasnt stopped me from planning a AMD build :p

As for the 9600GT being better than a 8800GT... i beg to differ (if just a little :D)

http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/article.html?art=MTQ2NiwxLCxoZW50aHVzaWFzdA==

A damn fine card nontheless.

Like i said before, either build is decent - but the Intel machince has more power behind it. then again you can simply change a few things in your friends build to par things up.

Oh and itsme... i think you need glasses ;)
 

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
20,264
Reaction score
1,765
Alf - nice input.

As for itsme needing glasses, our friend who started this thread edited his original post, which rather makes a nonsense of some replies ;)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Alf

Yank Upstart
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
3,193
Reaction score
6
Hey Flops, do you recommend Vista for either machine? Or is XP still the 'best bet'?
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
6,175
Reaction score
2
floppybootstomp said:
Alf - nice input.

As for itsme needing glasses, our friend who started this thread edited his original post, which rather makes a nonsense of some replies ;)

Thanks for noticing the error [Edited] FBS ;)

Now where did I put those Specs:D Oh they are on my ears Alf:p
 

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
20,264
Reaction score
1,765
Alf said:
Hey Flops, do you recommend Vista for either machine? Or is XP still the 'best bet'?

That's a hard question and one to which I would hesitate to give an answer.

XP definitely suits Gaming better but Vista is probably the way forward.

Support for XP will probably expire before support for Vista.

Vista looks gorgeous, performs well but is a resource hog.You do need a high specced machine to make the most of it.

Vista is also chock full of really annoying 'security' prompts but you can turn these off.

Vista comes with IE7 and WMP11 installed by default but that doesn't bother me as IE7 works ok for me and I rarely use WMP11.

So, in short - I dunno :D

Were I personally to choose now I'd go for Windows Vista Home Premium 64 Bit and fit 4Gb of RAM.

I think I was misguided in choosing the 32 bit version as most reports I've read say games running with 64 Bit Vista definitely peform better.

You live and learn :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top