Monitor only works with VGA port and not HDI - can anyone help?


Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
Recently got a new MB (Asus P8Z68-V/Gen3) and new video card (MSI R6950 twin frozr iii). Eventually got it all working, but for some reason my monitor that I have used without a problem with my old MB and video card.
PC boots up fine, but if I connect to the DVI port on the monitor I get no signal, but if I connect to the VGA port on the monitor it works fine. It is the same whether I connect using the MSI card or directly to the motherboard.

Any ideas as to how to solve this?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 4, 2003
Messages
7,989
Reaction score
818
Do you have a connection output option for the video card?
Its usually in the advanced section somewhere

What card are you using?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
I did look at the bios when you mentioed it earlier. Couldnt find any settings that I thought would help. I did look at those ones but couldnt see a potential problem. I though it was all to do with using the mb GPU and getting it to override the card, etc.
 

Silverhazesurfer

Master of Logic
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
1,068
Reaction score
42
What OS and do you have the software for the card?

http://us.msi.com/product/vga/R6950-Twin-Frozr-III-1G-OC.html#/?div=Driver&os=Win7 32

Driver link. Start there. The installer package should at least install some sort of supporting menu settings. Based on it being an ATI chipset, something ATI specific. Chances are that you will need to go into the ATI specific settings to enable the HDMI out. I have seen this behavior with XP and would not doubt it's presence in Win 7. Right click the desktop and look at the options in the menu.

NVidia, for example, uses the NVidia control panel as an option. I don't mess with ATI all that often.
 

Silverhazesurfer

Master of Logic
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
1,068
Reaction score
42
I re-read the issue.

why does it sound like this is a bad dvi cable? or incompatible one?

PC boots up fine, but if I connect to the DVI port on the monitor I get no signal, but if I connect to the VGA port on the monitor it works fine. It is the same whether I connect using the MSI card or directly to the motherboard.

cable, adapter...one of the two. what is the difference between the old and new?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
I am now thinking you have hit the nail on the head with the incompatible cable idea.

My monitor (Acer AL2216W) uses a DVI-D slot.

The graphics card has

Dual-link DVI-I x 1
Single-link DVI-D x 1
(as well as HDMI x 1 and
Mini DisplayPort x 2)

Im not 100% sure what these mean as both slots look the same.
But shouldnt my DVI-D cable still work when connecting to my monitor?


 
Ad

Advertisements

Silverhazesurfer

Master of Logic
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
1,068
Reaction score
42
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_Visual_Interface#Connector

Start there.

Typically, I find that adapters and cables work as long as they can connect to the individual connector. However, if your cable is missing pins that are required on the connector, it can connect and not work. You will find the different connectors here as well as the pin outs. Perhaps you can line up which cable you have to which port is on the machine.


*edit: http://www.datapro.net/techinfo/dvi_info.html has some additional info that you may be interested in as well.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
19
Reaction score
0

Attachments

  • 2012-02-13 17.08.53.jpg
    2012-02-13 17.08.53.jpg
    177.4 KB · Views: 2,921
  • 2012-02-13 17.09.31.jpg
    2012-02-13 17.09.31.jpg
    109.2 KB · Views: 2,042

Silverhazesurfer

Master of Logic
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
1,068
Reaction score
42
Well, start by IDing the connectors on the devices. If you are adapting the card in this post, https://www.pcreview.co.uk/forums/new-video-card-problem-no-display-t4044975.html, it has two different DVI ports.

2 (Single-Link DVI-D x1, Dual-Link DVI-I x1)
http://www.neoseeker.com/Articles/Hardware/Reviews/MSI_R6950_Twin_Frozr_III/

I don't know what type of monitor you have, but you would need to be able to match one of these connections. DVI is fickle.

edit: re-read original post, yes, it is that card and those are the above DVI types. Now all you need is the correct monitor. Make sure the monitor has the same type, else it may not work. I had a hell of a time with some navigation monitors and adapters that kept being sold as DVI-D and they were not...or at least they didn't work. I believe they came from Cables to Go.
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads


Top