Is This Adware/Spyware?


Adywebb

Growing old....
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2005
Messages
5,450
Reaction score
11
In the top right corner of this site is an ad banner - just lately it has been displaying "Warning - Error" "An error has occured in you computer" then offers a click option for a free scan. If I hover over it the address media.fastclick/w/click.here?cid=44653&mid=89813&sid=17309&m=1&c=1 shows at the bottom of the page.

Is this a genuine ad for the site, or am I infected?

I have run the usual virus/adware/spyware apps with no trace...

:confused:

Edit : I'm using I.E by the way (I know....I Know.....:blush: )
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,485
Reaction score
1,023
Adywebb said:
In the top right corner of this site is an ad banner - just lately it has been displaying "Warning - Error" "An error has occured in you computer" then offers a click option for a free scan. If I hover over it the address media.fastclick/w/click.here?cid=44653&mid=89813&sid=17309&m=1&c=1 shows at the bottom of the page.

Is this a genuine ad for the site, or am I infected?

I have run the usual vius/adware/spyware apps with no trace...

:confused:

Edit : I'm using I.E by the way (I know....I Know.....:blush: )
NO ... it is an ADD ... drives me nuts too. :mad:

Bean meaning to ask Ian if that one can be changed ... fastclick.net rubbish. :rolleyes:

I do hope you get LOADS of money off them Ian. :D
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
6,175
Reaction score
2
muckshifter said:
NO ... it is an ADD ... drives me nuts too. :mad:

Bean meaning to ask Ian if that one can be changed ... fastclick.net rubbish. :rolleyes:

I do hope you get LOADS of money off them Ian. :D
And me I Go cockeyed looking at that blink:) blink:p blink:D {: :}:eek:
 

Adywebb

Growing old....
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2005
Messages
5,450
Reaction score
11
muckshifter said:
NO ... it is an ADD ... drives me nuts too. :mad:

Bean meaning to ask Ian if that one can be changed ... fastclick.net rubbish. :rolleyes:

I do hope you get LOADS of money off them Ian. :D
Likewise Mucks - its a pain in the a*se...:mad:
 

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,485
Reaction score
1,023
Sad to say ... 'siteadvisor' gives it a green light ... well not in my book, I say do NOT click it ... it even screws with FF ... talk about popups.

Stupid thing couldn't "fix" my system anyway. :D
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Feb 23, 2002
Messages
19,064
Reaction score
1,046
I didn't realise anything like that pops up on the site :eek: Fastclick pay pennies so I've been looking into getting a "proper" sponsor instead, but I'll e-mail fastclick now and ask them to filter any crap like that out :(

Sorry about that guys, I'll see if I can get something better in its place!
 

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,485
Reaction score
1,023
Sorry Ian, But I have always tried to "block" fastclick.net/com/us/me/ and any other extention they use ... and I just remembered to install AdBlock for FF. :D

Works a treat ... :p
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Feb 23, 2002
Messages
19,064
Reaction score
1,046
I'm logged into fastclick now and it appears I can filter things out manually - let me know if anything questionable appears and I'll remove it ASAP. I'm looking into alternative providers as I type this :)
 

V_R

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Moderator
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
13,209
Reaction score
1,594
I dont see it. I got Spysweepers Ad shield active (even though its not running) and its just a grey box! :)
 

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,485
Reaction score
1,023
Vanilla Radio said:
I dont see it. I got Spysweepers Ad shield active (even though its not running) and its just a grey box! :)
Hey! hope you ain't 'filtering' the sponsors add ... we like that one. :thumb:

Oh, Ian, I can see the Google ads in it place now ... :thumb:

I forgot all about that FF extention ... all I did was right click and add fastclick.net to the 'black' list ... hahaha

;)
 

V_R

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Moderator
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
13,209
Reaction score
1,594
I forgot all about that FF extention ... all I did was right click and add fastclick.net to the 'black' list
Is that the Adblock Extention by the Adblock Crew!? I'll give it a go.
 

Adywebb

Growing old....
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2005
Messages
5,450
Reaction score
11
No sorry Ian, I'm still getting it:(

Edit: Only on I.E though - I'm getting a Sky.com ad on firefox:confused:

Further Edit: Cancel that, I've just refreshed FF and got it back again....
 
Last edited:

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Feb 23, 2002
Messages
19,064
Reaction score
1,046
It may take an hour or two to update, but it should definitely be gone tomorrow or something is up. Doesn't look like there are many UK friendly ad networks out there.
 

Me__2001

Internet Junkie
Joined
Apr 5, 2004
Messages
4,354
Reaction score
1
what are you guys on about i cant see anything in IE or FF ???
 

V_R

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Moderator
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
13,209
Reaction score
1,594
That ad block works well. :thumb:

Cheers Mucks. :)
 

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,485
Reaction score
1,023
Me__2001 said:
what are you guys on about i cant see anything in IE or FF ???
You is too late ...

:D
 

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,485
Reaction score
1,023
Vanilla Radio said:
That ad block works well. :thumb:

Cheers Mucks. :)
Yeah, watch MS & IE nick the idea and stick it in IE 7.5

:rolleyes:

:D
 

V_R

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Moderator
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
13,209
Reaction score
1,594
The Add's seems better now, just seem a Vonage add. Thats better than the fastclick one. :)
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
6,175
Reaction score
2
Well I clicked the bl###y add and all hell let loose my main system only thank gawd> pop-ups well I was ROTFL:D They just would not stop>>>>>>>>>>>>>> and thats with pop stop and the rest of the squad.When I finally came to my senses:eek: I had a hell of a job to get it up and running the PC that is:D well jokes aside took me 2 Hrs to sort I could not even get on the web so re-formated back up and running now!!>>>> fast click I would like to me one of them:eek: face to face my cat would do the rest:D
 
Ad

Advertisements

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,485
Reaction score
1,023
oh for gawds sake man ...

itsme said:
Well I clicked the bl###y add and all hell let loose my main system only thank gawd> pop-ups well I was ROTFL:D They just would not stop>>>>>>>>>>>>>> and thats with pop stop and the rest of the squad.When I finally came to my senses:eek: I had a hell of a job to get it up and running the PC that is:D well jokes aside took me 2 Hrs to sort I could not even get on the web so re-formated back up and running now!!>>>> fast click I would like to me one of them:eek: face to face my cat would do the rest:D
HEY! don't listen to me then ... and I quote "well not in my book, I say do NOT click it ... it even screws with FF ... talk about popups." end-quote

:p

Sod the new Rules ... fastclick.net suck big time. ;)
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads

adware 10
spyware???? 1
Is this Spyware ... ? 2
Spyware Point 6
Possible Spyware? 2
Firewall Spyware? 0
Spyware problems 1
Microsoft files adware system patent 1

Top