I need a good 64bit Linux distro


ladypcer

The Linux Lady
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
202
Reaction score
0
I'm using Ubuntu but I'm not thrilled with it.
Please don't say Gentoo- it has no GUI.

I just know Mucks is going to say SuSe :D
 
Ad

Advertisements

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,585
Reaction score
1,083
ladypcer said:
I'm using Ubuntu but I'm not thrilled with it.
Please don't say Gentoo- it has no GUI.

I just know Mucks is going to say SuSe :D
Oh your too kind M' Lady (mucks tips cap)


Do you think this bunch of Windosers know that Linux can actually use 64 bit, let alone figure out a good Distro?

Even Micro$oft haven't got a clue how 64bit works. :eek:

... and yes, I'll throw in Suse. v10 is looking good. :p
 

ladypcer

The Linux Lady
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
202
Reaction score
0
:D I already tried SuSe 10 beta. :)


and I live in a world of hope :D
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
57
Reaction score
0
Here is a list of 64 bit distro's .......

CentOS 4.0 DVD (64-BIT)
Fedora Core 3 DVD (64-BIT)
FreeBSD 5.3 (64-BIT)
Gentoo 2005.0 (64-BIT)
Kanotix 2005-01(64-BIT)
Kanotix 2005-3 (64-BIT)
Kubuntu 5.04 Install (64-BIT)
Mandriva 2005 LE (64-BIT)
NetBSD 2.0.2 (64-BIT)
Suse 9.1 Pro DVD (64-BIT)
Suse 9.2 FTP DVD(64-BIT)
Ubuntu 5.04 Install (64-BIT)
VidaLinux Desktop OS 1.1 (64-BIT)

Thats the ones i know about... personally, if it was me, I try the Mandriva one, or the newest Suse. But that's just me :)
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2003
Messages
130
Reaction score
0
I believe Alakazam has suse 9.3 64bit installed on one of his machines. That was a few months back, and not that many apps in the multi media area were available, but I beleive he finally got it all sorted.
Beta releases should not be used to base a decision on. suse10 is scheduled for release on oct6.

The last few people I know who installed mandrivel were not too happy with it, tho some were. none of those were 64 bit installs tho.
 
Ad

Advertisements

ladypcer

The Linux Lady
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
202
Reaction score
0
You must have been reading my mind. :eek:
I just got finished burning the last cd to SuSe 9.3 64 bit. :)

I'm installing it tomorrow. :D
 

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,585
Reaction score
1,083
ladypcer said:
You must have been reading my mind. :eek:
I just got finished burning the last cd to SuSe 9.3 64 bit. :)

I'm installing it tomorrow. :D
Good morning ... well!

:D
 

ladypcer

The Linux Lady
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
202
Reaction score
0
Well.. my 64 bit version turned out to be 32 bit. :rolleyes:
But.. I installed it on another tower and hey.. I like it! :D
 

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,585
Reaction score
1,083
ladypcer said:
Well.. my 64 bit version turned out to be 32 bit. :rolleyes:
But.. I installed it on another tower and hey.. I like it! :D
Sweet ... :cool:


Now tell me ... how do access an external USB drive. "no media in device for media backup" ... backup, is the name of the drive, and has ALL my work on it from Windows. :D

Su lists no data. ;)
 

ladypcer

The Linux Lady
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
202
Reaction score
0
Good question.
I hooked up a USB external and it shows up on the dessktop but won't let me enter it either.
Time to Google. ;)
 
Ad

Advertisements

ladypcer

The Linux Lady
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
202
Reaction score
0
Edit-
Mucks, try logging in as root and accessing it there.
 
Last edited:

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,585
Reaction score
1,083
ladypcer said:
Edit-
Mucks, try logging in as root and accessing it there.
Yeah right ... in english please. ;)

I tried this ...
su
<root-password>
mkdir /media/sde1
mount /dev/sde1 /media/sde1
ls /media/sde1

and I got this ... no media

... and I still don't know what I'm doing. :(
 

ladypcer

The Linux Lady
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
202
Reaction score
0
Log out and log back in as root.
Right click on the desktop- configure desktop- behaviour- device icons- tick show device icons and Mounted Hard drive icons- apply.

The USB icon will be on your desktop. See if you can see your files in it.

I can access mine, but it only shows some basic file manager files.
It may not be able to see NTSF?
 

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,585
Reaction score
1,083
ladypcer said:
Log out and log back in as root.
Right click on the desktop- configure desktop- behaviour- device icons- tick show device icons and Mounted Hard drive icons- apply.

The USB icon will be on your desktop. See if you can see your files in it.

I can access mine, but it only shows some basic file manager files.
It may not be able to see NTSF?
Hmmm, me got no printer.

Now I may be wrong, but I can do that from "control center' no? but I do not see "Mounted Hard drive icons" so I have to log on as root to "see" that one? yes?

I'm reluctant to mess around in 'root' ... I only have a Live CD to fall back on

I'm quite happy to format the drive using Suse ... :eek:

:D
 

ladypcer

The Linux Lady
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
202
Reaction score
0
Right click on the desktop- configure desktop- behaviour- device icons- tick show device icons and Mounted Hard drive icons- apply.

The USB icon will be on your desktop.

You can do that in "user", but you probably won't be able to "open" the drive. It's owned by "root".

You might wait til someone with more knowledge in SuSe shows up and offers a helping hand.
 
Ad

Advertisements

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,585
Reaction score
1,083
I accedently used "restart" :eek: instead of log out ... and all hell brok loose when the desktop came up ... new mouse & keyboard ... :rolleyes:

Be back in a tick, got to put THINK back to work .. :(
 

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,585
Reaction score
1,083
Ok I did as you said ... don't like the in-you-face RED desktop ... I could not see "mounted hard drive Icons", so I pressed apply anyway. :D

Yep, it works ... but only in root. :(

I'm begining to understand ... slowly. :rolleyes:

:blush:
 

ladypcer

The Linux Lady
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
202
Reaction score
0
I think USB is actually "Removable Medium".
Afaik, it's "owned" by "root", and you'd need to change permissions for it to open in "user".
That's a little beyond me at this point, so best wait for a Linux guru to drop in. ;)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 6, 2003
Messages
130
Reaction score
0
ok, here is some info for you to help understand things.

1. ntfs is fully supported for read. Write is supported, but they warn you about possible corruption of the ntfs file system. if you do write to it and then access it in windozw, it is recommended you do a chkdisk to be sure all is ok. fat32 is fully supported for read and write.

2. as you have realized, you need to mount these devices in order to use them. The mount command has many options to use, and can allow it to be fully accessed by the user.

3. For those of us who be lazy, there is a file called fstab int the /etc directory that holds all the mountpoints you define. if you are going to be using the usb device often, I would recommend putting a line in to automount it in the directory you want with the proper permissions for a user.
HINT: if you look in YAST, you can create this entry with a gui interface.

if you can;t figure it out with some readin, I'll give you some examples.....

I just totally trashed my new 9.3 install, so when I re-install it I can be more specific on where in yast it is.

I did write a how-to for an advanced suse 9.2 pro instal with multiple os's already on the pc, but it is on another site, so for the sake of etiquett I won;t post the link without permission. there is some good info in there for understanding bootmangers and setting up an fstab during the install.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top