How To Prevent "Final Showing Markup" State?

  • Thread starter Fester Bestertester
  • Start date

F

Fester Bestertester

Greetings,

Word 2003, sp3.

We have a document with change tracking turned on. But we want the
document to always open in "Original" state with no markup showing. We
also want to ensure that the document opens in "Original" state when we
e-mail it to other users.

So far the document always seems to open in "Final Showing Markup"
state, no matter what we do.

Here are the things we've tried that didn't work:

1. On the Reviewing Toolbar, we selected Show | Original, and unchecked
Comments, Ink Annotations, Insertions and Deletions, and Formatting. We
then set the "Display for Review" setting to "Original" and saved and
closed. We added an empty line just to make sure the document had a
change just before we saved and closed. When we re-opened, the file
displayed in "Final Showing Markup" state.

2. We went to File | Properties | Custom, and cleared all the items in
the Properties box. Repeated step #1. When we re-opened, the file
displayed in "Final Showing Markup" state.

3. We went to Tools | Options | Security and unchecked the "Make hidden
markup visible when opening or saving" checkbox. Repeated step #1. When
we re-opened, the file displayed in "Final Showing Markup" state.

So to reiterate, the question is, how to we ensure that the document
will always open in Original state with no markup showing?
 
Ad

Advertisements

T

Tony Jollans

Whether or not the document opens this way is (partly) a user-controlled
option. You have no control over what others see in this situation.

If you have the security option you mention cleared both when you save the
document and when you open it you should not see the markup.
 
F

Fester Bestertester

Hmmm...

So it sounds as if the user wants to share the document but doesn't want
other users to be able to see the markup at all, they need to copy all
the text into a new document?
 
T

Tony Jollans

Yes - or, perhaps, accept all changes, e-mail the document (from Word,
without saving the document), and undo or close without saving.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
You can prevent this by showing "Final" and then TURNING OFF Track Changes before you save the document.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Hi guys,

I know this help might have come a little late but I have found a solution although I can't take any credit for it! I stumbled across Jason Yee's website and he has written a macro to fix the problem. It works a treat just follow his instructions ...

http://jyeee.blogspot.com/2006/10/turn-offstopdisable-final-showing.html

Pleased to help!

This doesn't actually work when you send the document to others...it only works on your computer...

i did however find a solutions

not sure exactly for other versions, but in 2010,
Word options > Trust Center > Trust Center settings > Privacy Options> document specific settings> deselect "Make hidden markup visible when opening or saving"

This should get saved to the doc
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
This last recommendation seems to work.
This problem seems more like a bug to me, not just a trust center issue.
Very annoying.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 31, 2013
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Thanks Cheeto.

Two years on and you are still a life saver! :)


This doesn't actually work when you send the document to others...it only works on your computer...

i did however find a solutions

not sure exactly for other versions, but in 2010,
Word options > Trust Center > Trust Center settings > Privacy Options> document specific settings> deselect "Make hidden markup visible when opening or saving"

This should get saved to the doc
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top