Help!!!!cpu Fan Not Working Anymore

Reaction score
hELLO TECHIES..I NEED YOUR HELP!!! I WOKE UP TODAY AND MY CPU WAS FINE....THEN THE CPU GOT QUIET AND THE FAN STOPPED...I TURNED OFF THE PC REAL FAST...I MADE SURE THE FAN WAS PLUGGED IN PROPERLY AND STILL NOTHING....BUT THIS TIME NOTHING SHOWS ON THE SCREEN :( NOW IF SOMEONE WENT THRU THIS AND GOT A SOLUTION PLEASE HELP ME...I AM A NOVICE USER AND I AM HARDWARE SAVVY BUT THIS IS CRAZINESS!! IM ON MY 566 MHZ PC AND ITS HORRIBLE....SO PLEASE NAYHELP WOULD BE GREAT!!....COULD IT BE THAT THE PROCESSOR FRIED???OR I JUST MNED TO REPLACE CPU FAN???H E L P!!!!!

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
It is considered SHOUTING to type all in uppercase text ... and hard to read, please refrain.

If your PC does not show anything on the screen and does not beep at least once ... then indeed the CPU has probably been 'fried' ... sorry, nothing you can do but replace it, and get a better HSF.

There again, your power supply unit (PSU) may have died.

Reaction score
Sorry for the caps! im afraid you're right about my cpu...but it did boot up to windows without the fan but im not touching it!.....this is the second time this happened to me...i dont understand how this happens.....i literally turned my cpu on...fan stopped working....shut off pc...looked at cpu fan and the turned of and thats that!.....so thats it all my money down the drain.????? hmmm thats ok iguess..i mean everythhing is fine its just that the fan isnt spinning anymore...

thanks for the advice:)

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
If the CPU fan is not working, then I would not use the PC untill I got a new one.

An AMD CPU would not last 5 seconds, if your lucky, without a HSF ... A P4 can stand the heat a little longer, but I would not push my luck.

;)

Reaction score