hard drive space?

G

I'm a newbie at this please help! My system says I have 1.06 GB free space, total on system is 18.6 GB. How can I free up space? If you can explain what it means when I try to defrag, it reads you have 5% free space, need 15% to defrag. Do you want to defrag anyway? Should I defrag anyway?

W

Will Denny

Hi

You won't be able to Defrag - because of the error message, if correct, as
15% free space is needed. Can you go to a command prompt Start>Run then
type 'cmd' - without the quotes. At the command prompt type the following
and then see what the last line says.

dir /a/s

Does that report 1.06 Gb free?

--

Will Denny
MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User

| I'm a newbie at this please help! My system says I have 1.06 GB free
space, total on system is 18.6 GB. How can I free up space? If you can
explain what it means when I try to defrag, it reads you have 5% free space,
need 15% to defrag. Do you want to defrag anyway? Should I defrag anyway?

G

did as you said and here is what came back, total files liste
2768 File(s) 3,509,862m383 byte
1274 Dir (s) 1,150,038,016 bytes fre
does this help?

G

Gerry Cornell

You can create more free space by:

1. In Outlook Express empty your Deleted Items folder.

2. In Outlook Express run File, Folder, Compact All whilst OFFLINE.

3. Run Disk Cleanup. Start, Programs, Accessories, System Tools, Disk Cleanup.

4. Empty Recycle Bin.

Is your hard drive partitioned? If yes how large is each partition / drive and how much free space? How much ram memory do you have?

To offer further advice it would be helpful to know what are the larger files on your system. To see what is on your hard drive you need to change a number of settings. Select Start, Control Panel, Folder Options, View, Advanced Settings, and check "Show hidden files and folders". Whilst there uncheck "Hide File Extensions". Also check "Display the contents of system folders".