FP2003 & Access Database Problem

G

Guest

I have a problem that I can't seem to find an answer for. I hope someone here
can help.
I created a website with FP2003 that includes an Access database. I used the
database wizards in FP to connect and create the editor, submission, and
results pages. So far, so good - almost everything works properly. Keyword -
almost.

The pages display the database records fine. I can even search within the
database and pull up records. However, I keep receiving an error message
whenever I try to edit, add, or delete a record. The error message is: Update
unable to find TableMapping['Table'] or DataTable 'Table'.

So, I decided to go back to scratch. I deleted the old website and without
tinkering with any files, I used the wizards to create a new site using the
sample database (Northwinds) and ran into the same exact problem. So, I again
deleted the website and tried to have FP build it's own database. The first
time I tried this, it worked. I was able to add, delete, and change records.
But in trying to return to my previous website, I ran into the same error.
So, once again, I deleted it and rebuilt the website from the wizards -
allowing FP to build it's own database. This time, it gave me the same error
message. What gives?

As a side note, when I was working on my original site, I had tried to edit
the database results region and just before the wizard finished, FP crashed.
I guess I'm wondering if this may have corrupted something along the way.

Can anyone help lead me in the right direction? Please keep it simple, I'm a
newbie at all of this.

Rocky
 
G

Guest

I've used:
Table - Products
Fields - ID (key), FileName, ItemNumber, Description, Price, Category
Queries - Too many to list but all are named for product items (i.e. -
9mm_charms). The only one that is different is: Search.

I just went back and right-clicked on one of the problem pages I mentioned
earlier (the ones that caused FP to crash). I selected Database Results
Properties and re-ran the wizard. When I clicked on "finish", once again, the
program crashed.

Help!!!

Rocky


Kathleen Anderson said:
When you are creating your own database, make sure you are not using any
reserved words when you name your tables, queries and fields in the
database: http://pacosdrivers.com/asp/reserved/

--
~ Kathleen Anderson
Microsoft MVP - FrontPage
Spider Web Woman Designs
web: http://www.spiderwebwoman.com/resources/
blog: http://msmvps.com/spiderwebwoman/category/321.aspx



RockyM said:
I have a problem that I can't seem to find an answer for. I hope someone
here
can help.
I created a website with FP2003 that includes an Access database. I used
the
database wizards in FP to connect and create the editor, submission, and
results pages. So far, so good - almost everything works properly.
Keyword -
almost.

The pages display the database records fine. I can even search within the
database and pull up records. However, I keep receiving an error message
whenever I try to edit, add, or delete a record. The error message is:
Update
unable to find TableMapping['Table'] or DataTable 'Table'.

So, I decided to go back to scratch. I deleted the old website and without
tinkering with any files, I used the wizards to create a new site using
the
sample database (Northwinds) and ran into the same exact problem. So, I
again
deleted the website and tried to have FP build it's own database. The
first
time I tried this, it worked. I was able to add, delete, and change
records.
But in trying to return to my previous website, I ran into the same error.
So, once again, I deleted it and rebuilt the website from the wizards -
allowing FP to build it's own database. This time, it gave me the same
error
message. What gives?

As a side note, when I was working on my original site, I had tried to
edit
the database results region and just before the wizard finished, FP
crashed.
I guess I'm wondering if this may have corrupted something along the way.

Can anyone help lead me in the right direction? Please keep it simple, I'm
a
newbie at all of this.

Rocky
 
K

Kathleen Anderson [MVP - FrontPage]

The reason I said that is because of the error message:
Update unable to find TableMapping['Table'] or DataTable 'Table'

What does your SQL look like?

--
~ Kathleen Anderson
Microsoft MVP - FrontPage
Spider Web Woman Designs
web: http://www.spiderwebwoman.com/resources/
blog: http://msmvps.com/spiderwebwoman/category/321.aspx



RockyM said:
I've used:
Table - Products
Fields - ID (key), FileName, ItemNumber, Description, Price, Category
Queries - Too many to list but all are named for product items (i.e. -
9mm_charms). The only one that is different is: Search.

I just went back and right-clicked on one of the problem pages I mentioned
earlier (the ones that caused FP to crash). I selected Database Results
Properties and re-ran the wizard. When I clicked on "finish", once again,
the
program crashed.

Help!!!

Rocky


Kathleen Anderson said:
When you are creating your own database, make sure you are not using any
reserved words when you name your tables, queries and fields in the
database: http://pacosdrivers.com/asp/reserved/

--
~ Kathleen Anderson
Microsoft MVP - FrontPage
Spider Web Woman Designs
web: http://www.spiderwebwoman.com/resources/
blog: http://msmvps.com/spiderwebwoman/category/321.aspx



RockyM said:
I have a problem that I can't seem to find an answer for. I hope someone
here
can help.
I created a website with FP2003 that includes an Access database. I
used
the
database wizards in FP to connect and create the editor, submission,
and
results pages. So far, so good - almost everything works properly.
Keyword -
almost.

The pages display the database records fine. I can even search within
the
database and pull up records. However, I keep receiving an error
message
whenever I try to edit, add, or delete a record. The error message is:
Update
unable to find TableMapping['Table'] or DataTable 'Table'.

So, I decided to go back to scratch. I deleted the old website and
without
tinkering with any files, I used the wizards to create a new site using
the
sample database (Northwinds) and ran into the same exact problem. So, I
again
deleted the website and tried to have FP build it's own database. The
first
time I tried this, it worked. I was able to add, delete, and change
records.
But in trying to return to my previous website, I ran into the same
error.
So, once again, I deleted it and rebuilt the website from the wizards -
allowing FP to build it's own database. This time, it gave me the same
error
message. What gives?

As a side note, when I was working on my original site, I had tried to
edit
the database results region and just before the wizard finished, FP
crashed.
I guess I'm wondering if this may have corrupted something along the
way.

Can anyone help lead me in the right direction? Please keep it simple,
I'm
a
newbie at all of this.

Rocky
 
G

Guest

Ok... here's where I show my stupidity. :)

I haven't added any SQL (unless FP added it by default). I'm using an Access
database and have only connected using the wizards (no additional db coding
by me). Even when I created the other databases (Northwinds & FP-built), I
didn't change the code. I just followed the new database interface website
template and let FP do it's thing.

I don't know if it'll help but I used ASP.NET in the database interface
wizard.

If FP added the SQL statements, where would I look to find them?

Thank you for your help!
Rocky



Kathleen Anderson said:
The reason I said that is because of the error message:
Update unable to find TableMapping['Table'] or DataTable 'Table'

What does your SQL look like?

--
~ Kathleen Anderson
Microsoft MVP - FrontPage
Spider Web Woman Designs
web: http://www.spiderwebwoman.com/resources/
blog: http://msmvps.com/spiderwebwoman/category/321.aspx



RockyM said:
I've used:
Table - Products
Fields - ID (key), FileName, ItemNumber, Description, Price, Category
Queries - Too many to list but all are named for product items (i.e. -
9mm_charms). The only one that is different is: Search.

I just went back and right-clicked on one of the problem pages I mentioned
earlier (the ones that caused FP to crash). I selected Database Results
Properties and re-ran the wizard. When I clicked on "finish", once again,
the
program crashed.

Help!!!

Rocky


Kathleen Anderson said:
When you are creating your own database, make sure you are not using any
reserved words when you name your tables, queries and fields in the
database: http://pacosdrivers.com/asp/reserved/

--
~ Kathleen Anderson
Microsoft MVP - FrontPage
Spider Web Woman Designs
web: http://www.spiderwebwoman.com/resources/
blog: http://msmvps.com/spiderwebwoman/category/321.aspx



I have a problem that I can't seem to find an answer for. I hope someone
here
can help.
I created a website with FP2003 that includes an Access database. I
used
the
database wizards in FP to connect and create the editor, submission,
and
results pages. So far, so good - almost everything works properly.
Keyword -
almost.

The pages display the database records fine. I can even search within
the
database and pull up records. However, I keep receiving an error
message
whenever I try to edit, add, or delete a record. The error message is:
Update
unable to find TableMapping['Table'] or DataTable 'Table'.

So, I decided to go back to scratch. I deleted the old website and
without
tinkering with any files, I used the wizards to create a new site using
the
sample database (Northwinds) and ran into the same exact problem. So, I
again
deleted the website and tried to have FP build it's own database. The
first
time I tried this, it worked. I was able to add, delete, and change
records.
But in trying to return to my previous website, I ran into the same
error.
So, once again, I deleted it and rebuilt the website from the wizards -
allowing FP to build it's own database. This time, it gave me the same
error
message. What gives?

As a side note, when I was working on my original site, I had tried to
edit
the database results region and just before the wizard finished, FP
crashed.
I guess I'm wondering if this may have corrupted something along the
way.

Can anyone help lead me in the right direction? Please keep it simple,
I'm
a
newbie at all of this.

Rocky
 
K

Kathleen Anderson [MVP - FrontPage]

Inline.

--
~ Kathleen Anderson
Microsoft MVP - FrontPage
Spider Web Woman Designs
web: http://www.spiderwebwoman.com/resources/
blog: http://msmvps.com/spiderwebwoman/category/321.aspx



RockyM said:
Ok... here's where I show my stupidity. :)

I haven't added any SQL (unless FP added it by default). I'm using an
Access
database and have only connected using the wizards (no additional db
coding
by me). Even when I created the other databases (Northwinds & FP-built), I
didn't change the code. I just followed the new database interface website
template and let FP do it's thing.

I don't know if it'll help but I used ASP.NET in the database interface
wizard.

What happens if you don't use ASP.Net?
If FP added the SQL statements, where would I look to find them?

Switch to Code View and look for a statement that begins with this:
s-sql="SELECT
Thank you for your help!
Rocky



Kathleen Anderson said:
The reason I said that is because of the error message:
Update unable to find TableMapping['Table'] or DataTable 'Table'

What does your SQL look like?

--
~ Kathleen Anderson
Microsoft MVP - FrontPage
Spider Web Woman Designs
web: http://www.spiderwebwoman.com/resources/
blog: http://msmvps.com/spiderwebwoman/category/321.aspx



RockyM said:
I've used:
Table - Products
Fields - ID (key), FileName, ItemNumber, Description, Price, Category
Queries - Too many to list but all are named for product items (i.e. -
9mm_charms). The only one that is different is: Search.

I just went back and right-clicked on one of the problem pages I
mentioned
earlier (the ones that caused FP to crash). I selected Database Results
Properties and re-ran the wizard. When I clicked on "finish", once
again,
the
program crashed.

Help!!!

Rocky


:

When you are creating your own database, make sure you are not using
any
reserved words when you name your tables, queries and fields in the
database: http://pacosdrivers.com/asp/reserved/

--
~ Kathleen Anderson
Microsoft MVP - FrontPage
Spider Web Woman Designs
web: http://www.spiderwebwoman.com/resources/
blog: http://msmvps.com/spiderwebwoman/category/321.aspx



I have a problem that I can't seem to find an answer for. I hope
someone
here
can help.
I created a website with FP2003 that includes an Access database. I
used
the
database wizards in FP to connect and create the editor, submission,
and
results pages. So far, so good - almost everything works properly.
Keyword -
almost.

The pages display the database records fine. I can even search
within
the
database and pull up records. However, I keep receiving an error
message
whenever I try to edit, add, or delete a record. The error message
is:
Update
unable to find TableMapping['Table'] or DataTable 'Table'.

So, I decided to go back to scratch. I deleted the old website and
without
tinkering with any files, I used the wizards to create a new site
using
the
sample database (Northwinds) and ran into the same exact problem.
So, I
again
deleted the website and tried to have FP build it's own database.
The
first
time I tried this, it worked. I was able to add, delete, and change
records.
But in trying to return to my previous website, I ran into the same
error.
So, once again, I deleted it and rebuilt the website from the
wizards -
allowing FP to build it's own database. This time, it gave me the
same
error
message. What gives?

As a side note, when I was working on my original site, I had tried
to
edit
the database results region and just before the wizard finished, FP
crashed.
I guess I'm wondering if this may have corrupted something along the
way.

Can anyone help lead me in the right direction? Please keep it
simple,
I'm
a
newbie at all of this.

Rocky
 
G

Guest

OK... first, I searched the database_editor.aspx file for the SQL - nothing.
Then I searched the entire site and still nothing.

I tried creating another site using ASP instead of ASP.NET. Now when I try
to open the results page, editor page, or submission page in IE, I get an
error showing:

The page cannot be displayed
There is a problem with the page you are trying to reach and it cannot be
displayed.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please try the following:

Open the server home page, and then look for links to the information you
want.
Click the Refresh button, or try again later.

Click Search to look for information on the Internet.
You can also see a list of related sites.

HTTP 500 - Internal server error
Internet Explorer


Could this be a permissions problem (with the old site/database)? Or do you
think it might have something to do with FP crashing? Should I
uninstall/reinstall?

Rocky





Kathleen Anderson said:
Inline.

--
~ Kathleen Anderson
Microsoft MVP - FrontPage
Spider Web Woman Designs
web: http://www.spiderwebwoman.com/resources/
blog: http://msmvps.com/spiderwebwoman/category/321.aspx



RockyM said:
Ok... here's where I show my stupidity. :)

I haven't added any SQL (unless FP added it by default). I'm using an
Access
database and have only connected using the wizards (no additional db
coding
by me). Even when I created the other databases (Northwinds & FP-built), I
didn't change the code. I just followed the new database interface website
template and let FP do it's thing.

I don't know if it'll help but I used ASP.NET in the database interface
wizard.

What happens if you don't use ASP.Net?
If FP added the SQL statements, where would I look to find them?

Switch to Code View and look for a statement that begins with this:
s-sql="SELECT
Thank you for your help!
Rocky



Kathleen Anderson said:
The reason I said that is because of the error message:
Update unable to find TableMapping['Table'] or DataTable 'Table'

What does your SQL look like?

--
~ Kathleen Anderson
Microsoft MVP - FrontPage
Spider Web Woman Designs
web: http://www.spiderwebwoman.com/resources/
blog: http://msmvps.com/spiderwebwoman/category/321.aspx



I've used:
Table - Products
Fields - ID (key), FileName, ItemNumber, Description, Price, Category
Queries - Too many to list but all are named for product items (i.e. -
9mm_charms). The only one that is different is: Search.

I just went back and right-clicked on one of the problem pages I
mentioned
earlier (the ones that caused FP to crash). I selected Database Results
Properties and re-ran the wizard. When I clicked on "finish", once
again,
the
program crashed.

Help!!!

Rocky


:

When you are creating your own database, make sure you are not using
any
reserved words when you name your tables, queries and fields in the
database: http://pacosdrivers.com/asp/reserved/

--
~ Kathleen Anderson
Microsoft MVP - FrontPage
Spider Web Woman Designs
web: http://www.spiderwebwoman.com/resources/
blog: http://msmvps.com/spiderwebwoman/category/321.aspx



I have a problem that I can't seem to find an answer for. I hope
someone
here
can help.
I created a website with FP2003 that includes an Access database. I
used
the
database wizards in FP to connect and create the editor, submission,
and
results pages. So far, so good - almost everything works properly.
Keyword -
almost.

The pages display the database records fine. I can even search
within
the
database and pull up records. However, I keep receiving an error
message
whenever I try to edit, add, or delete a record. The error message
is:
Update
unable to find TableMapping['Table'] or DataTable 'Table'.

So, I decided to go back to scratch. I deleted the old website and
without
tinkering with any files, I used the wizards to create a new site
using
the
sample database (Northwinds) and ran into the same exact problem.
So, I
again
deleted the website and tried to have FP build it's own database.
The
first
time I tried this, it worked. I was able to add, delete, and change
records.
But in trying to return to my previous website, I ran into the same
error.
So, once again, I deleted it and rebuilt the website from the
wizards -
allowing FP to build it's own database. This time, it gave me the
same
error
message. What gives?

As a side note, when I was working on my original site, I had tried
to
edit
the database results region and just before the wizard finished, FP
crashed.
I guess I'm wondering if this may have corrupted something along the
way.

Can anyone help lead me in the right direction? Please keep it
simple,
I'm
a
newbie at all of this.

Rocky
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top